orellfuessli.ch

An Ember in the Ashes 01

(1)
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER
AMAZON'S BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF 2015
PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD WINNER - FAVORITE FANTASY
BUSTLE'S BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF 2015
"This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human - and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear." - The Washington Post
" An Ember in the Ashes could launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling territory...It has the addictive quality of The Hunger Games combined with the fantasy of Harry Potter and the brutality of Game of Thrones ." -Public Radio International
" An Ember in the Ashes glows, burns, and smolders-as beautiful and radiant as it is searing." - Huffington Post
"A worthy novel - and one as brave as its characters." - The New York Times Book Review
A "deft, polished debut" ( Publishers Weekly , starred review), Sabaa Tahir's AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is a thought-provoking, heart-wrenching and pulse-pounding read. Set in a rich, high-fantasy world with echoes of ancient Rome, it tells the story of a slave fighting for her family and a young soldier fighting for his freedom.
Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.
Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.
It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire's impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They've seen what happens to those who do.
But when Laia's brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire's greatest military academy.
There, Laia meets Elias, the school's finest soldier-and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he's being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined-and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.
Look out for book two in the series, A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT, on sale August 30th!
Rezension
Early Praise for An Ember in the Ashes :
"Tahir's deft, polished debut alternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. In a tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie." - Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy."- US Weekly
"Blew me away ...This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic -expect to be completely transported." - MTV.com
"Perfect for fans of Maggie Stievater's The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series... The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!" - TeenVogue.com
"A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs . . . 'An Ember in the Ashes' is at the top of our must-read list for 2015."- MTV.com
"The much anticipated fantasy An Ember in the Ashes ... mixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones . . . and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet ." - The Hollywood Reporter
"An original, well-constructed fantasy world... truly engaging." - Kirkus Reviews
"Highly anticipated" - WallStreetJournal.com
"An epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It's a story that's literally burning to be told." - Hypable.com
"First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope."- Booklist

"Here's one of the year's most anticipated young-adult debuts," - Io9.com
"Tahir's world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized.... For fans of Game of Thrones and of Melina Marchetta's Finnikin of the Rock."-School Library Journal
"I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight. If that doesn't convince you to read An Ember in the Ashes , I don't know what will. An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debut that will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world's ready for Sabaa Tahir."- Marie Lu , New York Times bestselling author of Legend
" An Ember in the Ashes is a spectacular page turner that asks readers to consider how far they'd go to save the ones they love. Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fiction and her debut is as cinematic as Gladiator and as high-stakes as Game of Thrones ." -Holly Goldberg Sloan , New York Time s bestselling author of Counting by 7s
"A heart-pounding story of love and loss , with the most original world-building I've read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down."- Margaret Stohl , New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Creatures
"This electric debut is a pulse-pounding action-packed Romeo and Juliet story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you'll root for and won't stop thinking about."- Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of Frozen and The Ring and the Crown
" With An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times."- No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson
Portrait
Sabaa Tahir was born in London but grew up in California's Mojave Desert at her family's 18-room motel. After graduating from UCLA, Sabaa became an editor on the foreign desk at The Post . Three summers later, she came up with the concept for her debut novel. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 464
Altersempfehlung ab 14
Erscheinungsdatum 28.04.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-59514-803-2
Reihe Razorbill
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 235/167/43 mm
Gewicht 670
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 27.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1-2 Werktagen.
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen
Premium Card
Fr. 27.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 43836425
    An Ember in the Ashes 01
    von Sabaa Tahir
    Buch
    Fr. 15.90
  • 32060057
    Daughter of Smoke and Bone
    von Laini Taylor
    Buch
    Fr. 16.90
  • 44032793
    Truthwitch
    von Susan Dennard
    Buch
    Fr. 17.90
  • 43752604
    Monsters of Verity 01. This Savage Song
    von Victoria Schwab
    Buch
    Fr. 25.90
  • 43442203
    An Ember in the Ashes 2. A Torch Against the Night
    von Sabaa Tahir
    Buch
    Fr. 27.90
  • 34292569
    Lightbringer 2. The Blinding Knife
    von Brent Weeks
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90
  • 43799883
    An Ember in the Ashes 01
    von Sabaa Tahir
    Buch
    Fr. 16.90
  • 44793644
    An Ember in the Ashes
    von Sabaa Tahir
    Buch
    Fr. 32.40
  • 38781893
    The Martian
    von Andy Weir
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90
  • 43442241
    An Ember in the Ashes (2) - A Torch Against the Night
    von Sabaa Tahir
    Buch
    Fr. 27.90

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

THIS BOOK IS SO UNDERRATED!
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Berlin am 22.06.2016

'An Ember in the Ashes' is a book about Elias Veturius, a 20 year old "soldier" and Laia, who is about three years younger and comes from the lower class. When her brother gets kidnapped she is forced to run off and seeks help to save him, but in... 'An Ember in the Ashes' is a book about Elias Veturius, a 20 year old "soldier" and Laia, who is about three years younger and comes from the lower class. When her brother gets kidnapped she is forced to run off and seeks help to save him, but in return she has to put her own life at risk. Elias has been at Blackcliff for 14 years. 14 years of training how to kill and survive. But as he passes every exam without failure he realizes that his actions aren't just. Elias wants to leave but if he does that they will find him, torture him and then kill him. Honestly, I have been waiting so long for this book. Finally we have middle-eastern p.o.c. characters as protagonists that aren't exploited due to their religion or culture. In the mainstream culture of the typical "short girl with fiery red hair" this book stands out by the fact that there are a lot more p.o.c. characters than white people. Which is a very important message to little girls all over the world that get disappointed every time they open a book and realize there is no diversity in that story. You can't imagine how happy I was when I saw that my middle name (a very common middle name in the arabic-turkish culture) was also the name of a character (I cried) or that Elias was actually Ilyas before going to Blackcliff. Also the plot! OH MY! Both of our protagonists are constantly in danger and it actually drains the reader because you love at least one of them and you don't want them to die. And as if that isn't enough the tension increases with every chapter until the very last page. There is no way of getting bored throughout this book. It also has a very fitting touch of magic and fantasy. Creatures we know from arabic stories appear and improve the story perfectly. The characters: Elias Veturius is just too pure for this world. A young man that is constantly afraid of himself, because he might become a bad person with too much power. Laia is a little different. She is young and still tries to find herself. Her character is still very fragile since she is a teenager, but she has a very clear sense of what is right and wrong. Most of us can identify better with her than with other heroines that are just brave and courageous by default. Helene Aquilla is the very definition of a smart, independent and strong woman. She has trained along Elias for 14 years and is just as deadly as an opponent as he is. There are two antagonists, whose names I will not tell you because it might spoil some parts for you. One is a very nebulous character. We do not know much about this person at first but we know enough to fear confrontation with said character. The other just repelled me. This was such a horrible person with rape fantasies and a sadist mind that every time the person entered a scene my hands started to shake with fear and hatred. In conclusion! This book is great! It has great characters, a plot that doesn't keep you waiting, a world with magic and violence and a tiny love-story that is only mentioned along the plot, but doesn't interfere with anything else. I would recommend this to anyone who likes a little tension in the plot and a little touch of fantasy.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
0 0

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

An Ember in the Ashes 01

An Ember in the Ashes 01

von Sabaa Tahir

(1)
Buch
Fr. 27.90
+
=
An Ember in the Ashes 02. A Torch Against the Night

An Ember in the Ashes 02. A Torch Against the Night

von Sabaa Tahir

(4)
Buch
Fr. 28.90
+
=

für

Fr. 56.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale