orellfuessli.ch

Noch keine Premium Card? Jetzt kostenlos beantragen und Vorteile sichern!

Avenue of Mysteries

(2)
As we grow older - most of all, in what we remember and what we dream - we live in the past. Sometimes, we live more vividly in the past than in the present.
As an older man, Juan Diego will take a trip to the Philippines, but his dreams and memories will travel with him; he is most alive in his childhood and early adolescence in Mexico. 'An aura of fate had marked him,' John Irving writes. 'The chain of events, the links in our lives - what leads us where we're going, the courses we follow to our ends, what we don't see coming, and what we do - all this can be mysterious, or simply unseen, or even obvious.'
Avenue of Mysteries is the story of what happens to Juan Diego in the Philippines, where what happened to him in the past - in Mexico - collides with his future.
Rezension
"From the first page to the last, there is a goodness to this novel, a tenacious belief in love and the redemptive power of human connection, unfettered by institutions and conventions. This belief, combined with good old-fashioned storytelling, is surely why Irving is so often described as Dickensian. But John Irving is his own thing, and so is his new novel. Avenue of Mysteries is thoroughly modern, accessibly brainy, hilariously eccentric and beautifully human." Tayari Jones New York Times Book Review
Portrait
John (Winslow) Irving, geboren am 2. März 1942 in Exeter, im Staat New Hampshire, als ältestes von vier Kindern. John Irvings Vater war Lehrer und Spezialist für russische Geschichte und Literatur. Seine Kindheit verbrachte Irving in Neuengland. 1957 begann er mit dem Ringen; 19jährig wusste Irving, was er werden wollte: Ringer und Romancier. Studium der englischen Literatur an den Universitäten von New Hampshire und Iowa, wo er später Gastdozent des Schriftsteller-Workshops war. Deutschkurs in Harvard. 1963-1964 Aufenthalt in Wien. 1964 Rückkehr in die Vereinigten Staaten. Arbeit als Lehrer an Schule und Universität bis 1979. Lebt heute in Toronto und im südlichen Vermont. 1992 wurde Irving in die National Wrestling Hall of Fame in Stillwater, Oklahoma, aufgenommen, 2000 erhielt er einen Oscar für die beste Drehbuchadaption für seinen von Lasse Hallström verfilmten Roman Gottes Werk und Teufels Beitrag.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 480
Erscheinungsdatum 05.11.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-85752-114-9
Verlag Transworld Publ. Ltd UK
Maße (L/B/H) 238/158/48 mm
Gewicht 754
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 33.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig innert 1-2 Werktagen.
Versandkostenfrei
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen
Premium Card
Fr. 33.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 4570744
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    (11)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 12.90
  • 29974749
    Me Before You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (7)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 41768012
    Avenue of Mysteries
    von John Irving
    (2)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 37.90
  • 4443827
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 34910866
    The Life List
    von Lori Nelson Spielman
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 18787858
    The Horse Dancer
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 15053199
    Silver Bay
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 40476149
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 17.90
  • 15399648
    Animal Farm
    von George Orwell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 38142666
    The Circle
    von Dave Eggers
    (8)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 13.90

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
0
2
0
0
0

Avenue of Mysteries
von miss.mesmerized am 19.03.2016

Juan Diego is on his way to the biggest trip of his life: form New York to the Philippines. Yet, already the start of his journey is difficult, masses of snow lead to a delay, but while waiting at JFK, he meets Dorothy and Miriam who will change of... Juan Diego is on his way to the biggest trip of his life: form New York to the Philippines. Yet, already the start of his journey is difficult, masses of snow lead to a delay, but while waiting at JFK, he meets Dorothy and Miriam who will change of a lot of his plans for the following days. However, the elderly author does not only travel to Asia, but also into his own past, remembering how he grew up on a Mexican dump together with his mind-reading sister Lupe, how Jesuits took care of them and how Lupe lost her life. For readers of John Irving’s novels, the latest has to offer what you would expect from it: a great story of a whole life which is neither easy nor does it offer masses of luck and joy. Nevertheless, again, we get a multifaceted protagonist who is able to narrate his story and analyse it at the same time, who is singular and at the same time representative for a whole group of persons. He offers insight in his very special life and makes the novel vivid and complex. Having both stories – the past and the present – at the same time also provide a lot of suspense, since at the beginning, you cannot really like the old and the young Juan Diego and you get curious to find out what happened to his life to make such a turn. All in all, a wonderful story to indulge in.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
0 0
Zuviel Religion - to much religion?
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Hürth am 07.11.2015
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

Ich bin ein großer John Irving-Fan. I'm a great John-Irving-Fan. Ein Schriftsteller, der von sich und seiner Schwester erzählt in einem Waisenhaus erzählt. A novelist, who tells about his and his sister in orphanshouse. Er erzählt von seinen Herzproblemen und wie Viagra dabei hilft. He tells from his heartproblems... Ich bin ein großer John Irving-Fan. I'm a great John-Irving-Fan. Ein Schriftsteller, der von sich und seiner Schwester erzählt in einem Waisenhaus erzählt. A novelist, who tells about his and his sister in orphanshouse. Er erzählt von seinen Herzproblemen und wie Viagra dabei hilft. He tells from his heartproblems and how viagra helps. Durch dieses Viagra kann er Mutter und Tochter befriedigen, welcher er auf einem Flug nach Hongkong kennengelernt hat. Through this viagra he can satisfied mother and daughter, which he met on a flight to hongkong. Er lebt in Philippinen und erlebt in Alpträumen seine Kindheit. He lives in philippines and expierenced his childhood in nightmares. Wie immer in Romanen von John Irving entdecke ich Toleranz. However in novels from john irving i discover tolerance. Er beschreibt Menschen ohne Sie zu beurteilen. He discribes human being without too judge. Manchmal ist mir diesser Roman zu religiös. This novel is for me too religious, sometimes. Kann ich Gedanken lesen, kann ich in die Zukunft schauen? Can i read minds, can i look to the future? Diese Fragen sind in diesem Roman die Hauptsache und beschäftigen den Helden dieses Romans. This questions are the main thing in this novel and deal the hero with this novel.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
0 0

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Avenue of Mysteries

Avenue of Mysteries

von John Irving

(2)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 33.90
+
=
The Secret Keeper

The Secret Keeper

von Kate Morton

Buch (Taschenbuch)
Fr. 18.90
+
=

für

Fr. 52.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale