orellfuessli.ch

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Portrait

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about twenty-five years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband, Philip; two daughters; and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers in England.

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 336, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 12.03.2013
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062270078
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook (ePUB)
Fr. 8.50
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 8.50 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 45779405
    Not Dead Yet: The Autobiography
    von Phil Collins
    eBook
    Fr. 16.50
  • 46329838
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    von J. D. Vance
    eBook
    Fr. 12.90
  • 33111735
    Unorthodox
    von Deborah Feldman
    eBook
    Fr. 19.50
  • 47704295
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    eBook
    Fr. 30.50
  • 35459858
    Wild
    von Cheryl Strayed
    eBook
    Fr. 8.50
  • 45122877
    Born to Run
    von Bruce Springsteen
    eBook
    Fr. 17.50
  • 45865430
    Total Competition
    von Ross Brawn
    eBook
    Fr. 33.90
  • 37292720
    Driving Over Lemons
    von Chris Stewart
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 33111364
    Angela's Ashes
    von Frank McCourt
    eBook
    Fr. 20.90
  • 30902479
    Losing My Virginity
    von Sir Richard Branson
    eBook
    Fr. 11.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

von Jennifer Worth

eBook
Fr. 8.50
+
=
Blauschmuck

Blauschmuck

von Katharina Winkler

(4)
eBook
Fr. 18.50
+
=

für

Fr. 27.00

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen