orellfuessli.ch

Galveston

Winner: Spur Award, Best First Novel

From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.
Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.
Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.
Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad .
Rezension
An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty ... "Galveston," in its authenticity and fearless humanism, recalls only the finest examples of the form Dennis Lehane The New York Times 20100716
Portrait

Nic Pizzolatto is the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective, starring Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson, for which he is creator, executive producer, and sole writer. His fiction has appeared in The Atlantic, The Oxford American, The Missouri Review, The Iowa Review, Best American Mystery Stories and several other publications. His work has been a finalist for the National Magazine Award, and his story collection Between Here and the Yellow Sea was named by Poets & Writer's Magazine as one of the top five fiction debuts of the year. His first novel, Galveston, was a finalist for the Barnes and Noble 2010 Discover Award and the Edgar Award for best first novel; it won the Spur Award, and received the Prix de Premier Roman L'Etranger for best first novel (foreign) from the French Academy. He has taught at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, The University of Chicago, and DePauw University. nicpizzolatto.com

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 272
Erscheinungsdatum 27.03.2014
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7515-5705-3
Reihe Sphere
Verlag Little Brown & Co Inc
Maße (L/B/H) 195/128/20 mm
Gewicht 195
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 17.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 3 - 5 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen
Premium Card
Fr. 17.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 36834779
    Why We Took the Car
    von Wolfgang Herrndorf
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 15.90
  • 38930428
    We Were Liars
    von E. Lockhart
    (10)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 47063173
    The Hanging Tree
    von Ben Aaronovitch
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 42769827
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (15)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 45795208
    Garden of Lamentations
    von Deborah Crombie
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 45965122
    The Chemist
    von Stephenie Meyer
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 26.90
  • 37486398
    Detectives at Work. Drei deutsch-englische Kinderkrimis
    von Renate Ahrens
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 13.40
  • 44903456
    Someone is Watching
    von Joy Fielding
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 15.90
  • 30595625
    Sherlock Holmes - Die besten Geschichten / Best of Sherlock Holmes (Anaconda Paperback)
    von Arthur Conan Doyle
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 6.40
  • 3007667
    Lies of Silence
    von Brian Moore
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Galveston

Galveston

von Nic Pizzolatto

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 17.90
+
=
Batman: Das lange Halloween

Batman: Das lange Halloween

von Tim Sale

Buch (Taschenbuch)
Fr. 42.90
+
=

für

Fr. 60.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale