orellfuessli.ch

Longbourn

A novel

- Pride and Prejudice was only half the story -
If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she'd most likely be a sight more careful with them.
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage. Sarah, the orphaned housemaid, spends her days scrubbing the laundry, polishing the floors, and emptying the chamber pots for the Bennet household. But there is just as much romance, heartbreak, and intrigue downstairs at Longbourn as there is upstairs. When a mysterious new footman arrives, the orderly realm of the servants' hall threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended.
Jo Baker dares to take us beyond the drawing rooms of Jane Austen's classic - into the often overlooked domain of the stern housekeeper and the starry-eyed kitchen maid, into the gritty daily particulars faced by the lower classes in Regency England during the Napoleonic Wars - and, in doing so, creates a vivid, fascinating, fully realized world that is wholly her own.
Rezension
A Best Book of the Year Selection: New York Times 100 Notable, Seattle Times, The Guardian, The Daily Mail, Kirkus Reviews"Masterful . . . From the same stream that fed Austen's literary imagination, Baker has drawn forth something entirely new and fresh." - Miami Herald "Happily, Longbourn is no mere riff but a fully imagined rejoinder to Price and Prejudice . . . Austen would have appreciated Baker's bracing rewrite from the underdog's point of view." - Newsday"If you are a Jane Austen fan with a pronounced predilection for Pride and Prejudice, you will devour Jo Baker's ingenious Longbourn as the ambrosia from the Austen gods it is . . . It's an idea that could have felt derivative or sycophantic in its execution, and yet the novel is rich, engrossing, and filled with fascinating observation . . . Dive in and you might even forget to watch Downton Abbey. " - O magazine"Intelligent and elegantly written . . . Longbourn reveals these messy backdrops [of Pride and Prejudice ] while still, in fitting tribute, inventing a touching love story of its own." - Wall Street Journal"An absorbing and moving story about the servants at Longbourn . . . Both original and charming, even gripping . . . If Charlotte Brontë had taken up the challenge of a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, she might very well have hit upon the sort of broader, more sympathetic point of view Jo Baker has derived from the servants' quarters." - Diane Johnson, New York Times Book Review" Longbourn is a bold novel, subversive in ways that prove surprising, and brilliant on every level. This is a masterful twist on a classic . . . Much more than a frothy, Downton Abbey -like twist on Austen. This novel is moving, filled with suspense, and impressive for the sympathy with which it explores the drudgery of the servants' lives, as well as their heartaches. That said, there's plenty of Austen-worthy wit too." - USA Today"Delightful . . . The achievement of Baker's reworking is that Sarah is no mere foil for Elizabeth Bennet; her notions of individual agency and the pursuit of happiness push more forcefully against the class and social strictures of her time than any character in Austen's novel. The result is a heroine whom it's impossible not to root for." - The New Yorker"A witty, richly detailed re-imagining of Pride and Prejudice . . . Fans of Austen and Downton Abbey will take particular pleasure in Longbourn, but any reader with a taste for well-researched historical fiction will delight in Baker's involving, informative tale." - People"A triumph: a splendid tribute to Austen's original but, more importantly, a joy in its own right . . . Like Austen, Baker has written an intoxicating love story but, also like Austen, the pleasure of her novel lies in its wit and fierce intelligence . . . Baker not only creates a richly imagined story of her own but recasts Austen's novel in a startlingly fresh light . . . Inspired." - The Guardian"Diehards who love Jane Austen and Downton Abbey will fan their corseted bosoms while tearing through this novel." - Entertainment Weekly"The servants have complicated, messy, interesting lives that are every bit as compelling as the Bennet girls' quest for husbands." - NPR "Weekend Edition""Irresistible . . . Sequels and prequels rarely add to the original, but Baker's simple yet inspired reimagining does. It has best-seller stamped all over it." - Kirkus Reviews (starred)" Longbourn is a really special book, and not only because its author writes like an angel. Its real achievement is to circumnavigate the world of Austen knock-offs and return, like Francis Drake, with a hold full of treasure . . . There are some wildly sad and romantic moments; I was sobbing by the end . . . A beautiful book." - Daily Mail (UK)
" Longbourn is told with glee and great wit, and will delight diehard Austen fans." - The Daily Beast "Inspired . . . This is a genuinely fresh perspective on the tale of the Bennet household .
Portrait
Jo Baker wurde in Lancashire geboren und studierte an der Oxford University und der Queen's University in Belfast, wo sie ihre Leidenschaft fürs Schreiben entdeckte. Seither veröffentlichte sie mehrere Romane, die ihr in der Presse viel Lob einbrachten. Jo Baker lebt mit ihrer Familie in Lancaster.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 464
Erscheinungsdatum 01.12.2013
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-8041-7161-8
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 174/108/40 mm
Gewicht 218
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 13.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 3 - 5 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen
Premium Card
Fr. 13.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 36855897
    Longbourn
    von Jo Baker
    (1)
    Buch
    Fr. 14.90
  • 38753104
    Augustus
    von John Williams
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90
  • 15989437
    A Mercy
    von Toni Morrison
    (1)
    Buch
    Fr. 13.90
  • 41127020
    Outlander: Drums of Autumn
    von Diana Gabaldon
    Buch
    Fr. 18.90
  • 44176781
    The Last Kingdom 10. The Flame Bearer
    von Bernard Cornwell
    Buch
    Fr. 27.90
  • 44676713
    Julian Fellowes's Belgravia
    von Julian Fellowes
    Buch
    Fr. 17.90
  • 30462893
    The Song of Achilles
    von Madeline Miller
    Buch
    Fr. 14.90
  • 45605786
    Outlander 07: Virgins
    von Diana Gabaldon
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90
  • 41807501
    Century 3. Edge of Eternity
    von Ken Follett
    (1)
    Buch
    Fr. 14.90
  • 25783555
    Century 1. Fall of Giants (engl. Ausgabe)
    von Ken Follett
    (2)
    Buch
    Fr. 13.90

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Longbourn

Longbourn

von Jo Baker

Buch
Fr. 13.90
+
=
Delf Junior Scolaire B2(9782090352580)

Delf Junior Scolaire B2(9782090352580)

von A.; Kober-Kleinert, C.; Minini, E. et al. Rausch

Buch
Fr. 31.90
+
=

für

Fr. 45.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale