orellfuessli.ch

She's Not There

A Novel

A vanished child, a family in turmoil, and a fateful phone call that brings the torments of the past into the harrowing present . . . the New York Times bestselling author of Someone Is Watching weaves these spellbinding elements into a gripping novel of psychological suspense-a must-read for fans of Laura Lippman and Mary Higgins Clark.

"I think my real name is Samantha. I think I'm your daughter."

Caroline Shipley's heart nearly stops when she hears those words from the voice on the other end of the phone. Instantly, she's thrust fifteen years into the past, to a posh resort in Baja, Mexico-and the fateful night her world collapsed.

The trip is supposed to be a celebration. Caroline's husband, Hunter, convinces her to leave their two young daughters, Michelle and Samantha, alone in their hotel suite while the couple enjoys an anniversary dinner in the restaurant downstairs. But returning afterward, Caroline and Hunter make a horrifying discovery: Two-year-old Samantha has vanished without a trace.

What follows are days, weeks, and years of anguish for Caroline. She's tormented by media attention that has branded her a cold, incompetent mother, while she struggles to save her marriage. Caroline also has to deal with the demands of her needy elder daughter, Michelle, who is driven to cope in dangerous ways. Through it all, Caroline desperately clings to the hope that Samantha will someday be found-only to be stung again and again by cruel reality.

Plunged back into the still-raw heartbreak of her daughter's disappearance, and the suspicions and inconsistencies surrounding a case long gone cold, Caroline doesn't know whom or what to believe. The only thing she can be sure of is that someone is fiercely determined to hide the truth of what happened to Samantha.

Praise for Joy Fielding's Someone Is Watching

"Someone Is Watching gripped me from the first to the very last page. Bailey Carpenter is a heroine who's both victim and warrior woman, a fascinating sleuth who will linger with you long after you've finished this thrilling read."-Tess Gerritsen

"Fielding pens a spiraling tale of paranoia and suspense, as sultry as a Miami night."-Jenny Milchman

"An edge-of-your-seat read . . . With Fielding's patented blend of complex characters and escalating suspense, she is in top form here."-Karen Robards

"Engrossing . . . The characters pulsate with life."-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A gripping, fast-paced psychological thriller . . . Fielding's story of one woman's search for justice, understanding, and internal peace is nothing short of arresting."-Booklist (starred review)
From the Hardcover edition.
Portrait
Joy Fielding is the New York Times bestselling author of Someone Is Watching, Charley's Web, Heartstopper, Mad River Road, See Jane Run, and other acclaimed novels. She divides her time between Toronto and Palm Beach, Florida.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 368, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 23.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9781101966884
Verlag Random House Publishing Group
Verkaufsrang 1.842
eBook
Fr. 17.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 17.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 40006420
    Someone Is Watching
    eBook
    Fr. 8.90
  • 35761253
    Puppet
    eBook
    Fr. 8.50
  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (15)
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 33840223
    The Restless Dead
    von Simon Beckett
    eBook
    Fr. 12.50
  • 47530067
    The Whistler
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    Fr. 11.90
  • 45779488
    Blackout
    von Marc Elsberg
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 45022752
    The Perfect Girl
    von Gilly MacMillan
    eBook
    Fr. 4.90
  • 45779116
    Night School
    von Lee Child
    eBook
    Fr. 16.50
  • 42150975
    In a Dark, Dark Wood
    von Ruth Ware
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 45779156
    Conclave
    von Robert Harris
    eBook
    Fr. 12.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

She's Not There

She's Not There

eBook
Fr. 17.90
+
=
The Missing: The gripping psychological thriller that's got everyone talking...

The Missing: The gripping psychological thriller that's got everyone talking...

von C. L. Taylor

eBook
Fr. 3.50
+
=

für

Fr. 21.40

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen