orellfuessli.ch

Mit eBooks in weniger als einer Minute mit dem Lesen beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen tolino?

The Home Place

A Novel

Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family’s life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister’s death.

The only Terrebonne who made it out, Alma thought she was done with Montana, with its bleak winters and stifling ways. But an unexpected call from the local police takes the successful lawyer back to her provincial hometown and pulls her into the family trouble she thought she’d left far behind: Her lying, party-loving sister, Vicky, is dead. Alma is told that a very drunk Vicky had wandered away from a party and died of exposure after a night in the brutal cold. But when Alma returns home to bury Vicky and see to her orphaned niece, she discovers that the death may not have been an accident.

The Home Place is a story of secrets that will not lie still, human bonds that will not break, and crippling memories that will not be silenced. It is a story of rural towns and runaways, of tensions corporate and racial, of childhood trauma and adolescent betrayal, and of the guilt that even forgiveness cannot ease. Most of all, this is a story of the place we carry in us always: home.

Rezension
“Carrie La Seur’s debut is a gripping story of family, love and murder. Set against an indelibly drawn Montana landscape, The Home Place explores the intangible ways we are both defined by and in opposition to the people and places we call home.”
Portrait

Carrie practices energy and environmental law on behalf of farmers, ranchers, and Native Americans, and does a little writing, from an office in Billings, Montana. Her ancestors homesteaded in Montana in 1864 and survived every sort of calamity and absurdity, so the publishing industry seems pretty tame to her by comparison.

Carrie’s improbable but apparently nonfiction résumé includes a degree in English and French from Bryn Mawr College, a Rhodes Scholarship, a doctorate in modern languages from Oxford University, and a Yale law degree. She has always been a writer. “The writing comes easily,” she says. “It’s what I’m always doing in the background, whatever else is going on. It’s like my resting pulse rate to be scribbling what’s happening in my head. If I didn’t, I’d be wandering the streets talking to myself. Sometimes I do that anyway.”

In 2006, Carrie founded the legal nonprofit Plains Justice, which provides public interest energy and environmental legal services in the northern plains states. Carrie and Plains Justice have played a key role in halting several new coal plants, enacting clean energy reforms, and launching the Keystone XL pipeline campaign. “I’m still involved in Plains Justice, but I went back to private practice in 2012. Running a nonprofit takes a unique blend of selflessness and enough raging narcissism to think you really can change the world. The burnout rate is similar to that of telemarketers.”

A licensed private pilot and committed introvert, Carrie hikes, skis, and fishes the Montana wilderness with her family in her spare time. Her work has appeared in such diverse media as Grist, Harvard Law and Policy Review, The Huffington Post, Mother Jones, and Salon

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 320, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 29.07.2014
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062323460
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook (ePUB)
Fr. 12.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 12.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 46083114
    Bridget Jones’s Baby
    von Helen Fielding
    eBook
    Fr. 11.50
  • 40313247
    The Rosie Effect
    von Graeme Simsion
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 45779580
    Nutshell
    von Ian McEwan
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 46675775
    This Was a Man
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 12.50
  • 45106485
    The Nest: America's hottest new bestseller
    von Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
    eBook
    Fr. 10.90
  • 47666236
    Archangel's Heart
    von Nalini Singh
    eBook
    Fr. 8.50
  • 45438018
    Lyrebird
    von Cecelia Ahern
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 45106483
    Cecelia Ahern 3-Book Collection: One Hundred Names, How to Fall in Love, The Year I Met You
    von Cecelia Ahern
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 33886927
    The Sins of the Father
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 3.90
  • 38490532
    Be Careful What You Wish For
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 5.90

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Home Place

The Home Place

von Carrie La Seur

eBook
Fr. 12.90
+
=
Paris For One

Paris For One

von Jojo Moyes

(1)
eBook
Fr. 2.50
+
=

für

Fr. 15.40

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen