orellfuessli.ch

The Home Place

A Novel

Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family's life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister's death.

The only Terrebonne who made it out, Alma thought she was done with Montana, with its bleak winters and stifling ways. But an unexpected call from the local police takes the successful lawyer back to her provincial hometown and pulls her into the family trouble she thought she'd left far behind: Her lying, party-loving sister, Vicky, is dead. Alma is told that a very drunk Vicky had wandered away from a party and died of exposure after a night in the brutal cold. But when Alma returns home to bury Vicky and see to her orphaned niece, she discovers that the death may not have been an accident.

The Home Place is a story of secrets that will not lie still, human bonds that will not break, and crippling memories that will not be silenced. It is a story of rural towns and runaways, of tensions corporate and racial, of childhood trauma and adolescent betrayal, and of the guilt that even forgiveness cannot ease. Most of all, this is a story of the place we carry in us always: home.

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 320, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 29.07.2014
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062323460
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook
Fr. 11.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 11.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 44675851
    Dare to Take (Dare to Love Series, #6)
    von Carly Phillips
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 46083114
    Bridget Jones’s Baby
    von Helen Fielding
    eBook
    Fr. 11.50
  • 43886169
    Cometh the Hour
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 8.50
  • 34931216
    The Martian
    von Andy Weir
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 40402949
    Mightier than the Sword
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 6.90
  • 45779580
    Nutshell
    von Ian McEwan
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 45438018
    Lyrebird
    von Cecelia Ahern
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 45317515
    The Sellout
    von Paul Beatty
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 45106483
    Cecelia Ahern 3-Book Collection: One Hundred Names, How to Fall in Love, The Year I Met You
    von Cecelia Ahern
    eBook
    Fr. 14.90
  • 36238108
    All the Light We Cannot See
    von Anthony Doerr
    eBook
    Fr. 7.90

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Home Place

The Home Place

von Carrie La Seur

eBook
Fr. 11.90
+
=
This Was a Man

This Was a Man

von Jeffrey Archer

eBook
Fr. 11.90
+
=

für

Fr. 23.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen