orellfuessli.ch

The Home Place

A Novel

Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family's life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister's death.

The only Terrebonne who made it out, Alma thought she was done with Montana, with its bleak winters and stifling ways. But an unexpected call from the local police takes the successful lawyer back to her provincial hometown and pulls her into the family trouble she thought she'd left far behind: Her lying, party-loving sister, Vicky, is dead. Alma is told that a very drunk Vicky had wandered away from a party and died of exposure after a night in the brutal cold. But when Alma returns home to bury Vicky and see to her orphaned niece, she discovers that the death may not have been an accident.

The Home Place is a story of secrets that will not lie still, human bonds that will not break, and crippling memories that will not be silenced. It is a story of rural towns and runaways, of tensions corporate and racial, of childhood trauma and adolescent betrayal, and of the guilt that even forgiveness cannot ease. Most of all, this is a story of the place we carry in us always: home.

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 320, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 29.07.2014
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062323460
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook
Fr. 11.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 11.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 30578151
    The Light Between Oceans
    von M. L. Stedman
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 46675775
    This Was a Man
    eBook
    Fr. 11.90
  • 40006432
    A Little Life
    von Hanya Yanagihara
    eBook
    Fr. 17.90
  • 26326387
    If I Stay
    von Gayle Forman
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 38321127
    The Memory Book
    von Rowan Coleman
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 40313247
    The Rosie Effect
    von Graeme Simsion
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 47516818
    The Terranauts
    von T. C. Boyle
    eBook
    Fr. 10.50
  • 36464546
    Therapy
    von Sebastian Fitzek
    eBook
    Fr. 2.50
  • 26688763
    Soul Music
    von Terry Pratchett
    eBook
    Fr. 9.50
  • 54423163
    The Struggle
    von Jennifer L. Armentrout
    eBook
    Fr. 6.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Home Place

The Home Place

von Carrie La Seur

eBook
Fr. 11.90
+
=
Two by Two

Two by Two

von Nicholas Sparks

(1)
eBook
Fr. 10.90
+
=

für

Fr. 22.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen