orellfuessli.ch

The Utopia of Rules

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives
Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?
To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber-one of our most important and provocative thinkers-traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice...though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing-even romantic-about bureaucracy.
Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.
An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us-and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.
Rezension
"A slim, sprightly, acerbic attack on capitalism's love affair with bureaucracy."- Cory Doctorow, BoingBoing "[ The Utopia of Rules ] should offer a challenge to us all. Should we just accept this bureaucracy as inevitable? Or is there a way to get rid of all those hours spent listening to bad call-centre music? Do policemen, academics, teachers and doctors really need to spend half their time filling in forms? Or can we imagine another world?"- Gillian Tett, Financial Times "Graeber wants us to unshackle ourselves from the limits imposed by bureaucracy, precisely so we can actually get down to openly and creatively arguing about our collective future. In other words, yelling at the book is not just part of the pleasure of reading it. It's part of the point."- NPR"Graeber's most interesting claim...is that our expressed hostility toward bureaucracy is at least partly disingenuous: that these thickets of rules and regulations are a source, to quote from his subtitle, of 'secret joys' for most of us."- Oliver Burkeman, The Guardian (UK)"Something like an intellectual hike led by an eccentric guide: a winding set of anecdotes, schematics, juxtapositions, and assertions... He is a master of opening up thought and stimulating debate."- Slate "Thought-provoking."- Boston Globe "What intense pleasure this book gave me, despite the dull topic: bureaucracy."- Peter Richardson, The National Memo "[A] fizzing, fabulous firecracker of a book... Our contemporary bureaucrats are revealed, in fact, as none other than you and me, forever administering and marketing ourselves."- The Literary Review "Anthropologist Graeber is one of our wildest thinkers (see Debt: The First 5,000 Years ), and in this book, he takes on the topic of bureaucracy, arguing that what we think of as the root of our civilization - capitalism, technology, rules and regulations - may just be what's keeping us in chains."- Flavorwire , 10 Must Read Books for February"Inspiring and full of surprising facts... This is ultimately a book about how the systems we invent come to appear natural. We treat our world as though it is a fact, but actually, we produce it. This is not a new idea, but it's one of the most hopeful we've got. It opens the door to change."- Maclean's (Canada)"A throughly argued, funny, and surprising new book."- Jonathon Sturgeon, Flavorwire "Persuasive... Graeber's aim was to start a conversation on the boondoggles and benefits of bureaucracy. In that regard, he has ticked all the right boxes."- The Observer (UK)"Packed with provocative observations and left-field scholarship. Ranging from witty analysis of comic-book narratives to penetrating discussion of world-changing technologies that haven't actually appeared, it demystifies some of the ruling shibboleths of our time. Modern bureaucracy embodies a view of the world as being essentially rational, but the roots of this vision, Graeber astutely observes, go all the way back to the ancient Pythagoreans."- John Gray, The Guardian (UK)"Admirable and convincing...In his irrepressible, ruminative way, Graeber stands in the comic tradition of Walt Whitman, archy and mehitabel and James Thurber. This is the chorus with which to laugh the trousers off corporate management."- Times Higher Education (UK)"Interrogates aspects of bureaucratic modernity that are normally unexamined causes of annoyance... Stylish and witty."- Steven Poole, New Statesman (UK)"Graeber is an American anthropologist with a winning combination of talents: he's a startlingly original thinker...able to convey complicated ideas with wit and clarity."- The Telegraph (UK)"A sharp, oddly sympathetic and highly readable account of how big government works-or doesn't work, depending on your point of view."- Kirkus Reviews
Praise for Debt: The First 5,000 Years :"Written in a brash, engaging style, the book is also a philosophical inquiry into
the nature of debt-where it came from and how i
Portrait
David Graeber, geb. 1961 in den Vereinigten Staaten, unterrichtete bis zu seiner umstrittenen Entlassung 2007 als Anthropologe in Yale und lehrt seither am Goldsmith-College in London. Er ist bekennender Anarchist und Mitglied der "Industrial Workers of the World". Sein Vater hat im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg gekämpft, und er selbst hat fast zwei Jahre in einer direkte Demokratie praktizierenden Gemeinschaft auf Madagaskar gelebt. Graeber ist ein Vordenker der Occupy-Bewegung.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 272
Erscheinungsdatum 16.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-61219-518-6
Reihe Melville House Publishing
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 208/141/22 mm
Gewicht 281
Verkaufsrang 6.231
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 26.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 3 - 5 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen
Premium Card
Fr. 26.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 42063251
    Who Gets What - And Why
    von Alvin Roth
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90
  • 13688503
    Beyond Reason
    von Roger Fisher
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90
  • 43553946
    Under New Management
    von David Burkus
    Buch
    Fr. 23.90
  • 39269351
    Debt
    von David Graeber
    Buch
    Fr. 29.90
  • 46122525
    The Official Guide to the GMAT Review 2017 Bundle + Question Bank + Video
    von GMAC
    Buch
    Fr. 89.90
  • 27071413
    Rich Dad Poor Dad
    von Robert T. Kiyosaki
    Buch
    Fr. 12.90
  • 43912458
    Trump: The Art of the Deal
    von Donald J. Trump
    Buch
    Fr. 21.90
  • 31129738
    Thinking, Fast and Slow
    von Daniel Kahneman
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90
  • 46122529
    The Official Guide for GMAT Review 2017 with Online Question Bank and Exclusive Video
    von GMAC
    Buch
    Fr. 49.90
  • 31419499
    Getting to Yes
    von Roger Fisher
    Buch
    Fr. 19.90

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Utopia of Rules

The Utopia of Rules

von David Graeber

Buch
Fr. 26.90
+
=
Der letzte Gottesbeweis

Der letzte Gottesbeweis

von Robert Spaemann

(2)
Buch
Fr. 17.90
+
=

für

Fr. 44.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale