orellfuessli.ch

World Without End

Kingsbridge

Make this your next book club selection and everyone saves.
Get 15% off when you order 5 or more of this title for your book club.
Simply enter the coupon code FOLLETPILLARS at checkout.
This offer does not apply to eBook purchases. This offer applies to only one downloadable audio per purchase.
Ken Follett has 90 million readers worldwide. The Pillars of the Earth is his bestselling book of all time. Now, eighteen years after the publication of The Pillars of the Earth , Ken Follett has written the most-anticipated sequel of the year- World Without End .
View our Ken Follett feature page.
In 1989 Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth , a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England centered on the building of a cathedral and many of the hundreds of lives it affected. Critics were overwhelmed-"it will hold you, fascinate you, surround you" ( Chicago Tribune )-and readers everywhere hoped for a sequel.
World Without End takes place in the same town of Kingsbridge, two centuries after the townspeople finished building the exquisite Gothic cathedral that was at the heart of The Pillars of the Earth . The cathedral and the priory are again at the center of a web of love and hate, greed and pride, ambition and revenge, but this sequel stands on its own. This time the men and women of an extraordinary cast of characters find themselves at a crossroad of new ideas- about medicine, commerce, architecture, and justice. In a world where proponents of the old ways fiercely battle those with progressive minds, the intrigue and tension quickly reach a boiling point against the devastating backdrop of the greatest natural disaster ever to strike the human race-the Black Death.
Three years in the writing, and nearly eighteen years since its predecessor, World Without End breathes new life into the epic historical novel and once again shows that Ken Follett is a masterful author writing at the top of his craft.
Rezension
"An epic tale in which you will willingly lose yourself for quite a spell." - The Denver Post
"Follett's no-frills prose does its job, getting smoothly through more than a thousand pages of outlaws, war, death, sex, and politics to end with an edifice that is as well constructed and solid as Merthin's bridge. A." - The Washington Post
"This wonderful sequel should leave you . . . with a 'deep contentment . . . like twilight on a summer evening.'" - Entertainment Weekly
"A lively entertainment for fans of The Once and Future King , The Lord of the Rings , and other multilayered epics." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Readers will be captivated." - Publisher's Weekly
Portrait
Ken Follett, geboren 1949 in Wales, von Beruf Journalist, wurde mit seinem Thriller 'Die Nadel' weltberühmt. Brillante Erzählkunst verbindet sich in seinen Büchern mit fundierter Sachkenntnis. 2013 wurde er mit dem Edgar Award ausgezeichnet.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 1025
Erscheinungsdatum 01.10.2008
Serie Kingsbridge 2
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-451-22446-0
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 172/106/38 mm
Gewicht 429
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Erscheint in neuer Auflage
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich
Premium Card
Fr. 16.90 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 15352075
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 25783558
    Century 1. Fall of Giants
    von Ken Follett
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 27635066
    Fall of Giants
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 18.90
  • 32543715
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 15356127
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 28.90
  • 14316919
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 39.90
  • 38906313
    Winter of the World
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 37426450
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 4122434
    Lie Down With Lions
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 37893926
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 28.40

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

World Without End

World Without End

von Ken Follett

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
+
=
Century 1. Fall of Giants (engl. Ausgabe)

Century 1. Fall of Giants (engl. Ausgabe)

von Ken Follett

(2)
Buch (Taschenbuch)
Fr. 13.90
+
=

für

Fr. 30.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Weitere Bände von Kingsbridge

  • Band 1

    885242
    The Pillars of the Earth
    von Ken Follett
    Fr. 16.90
  • Band 2

    21107125
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    Fr. 16.90
  • Band 3

    51785838
    A Column of Fire
    von Ken Follett
    Fr. 41.40
  • Band 4

    48048313
    A Column of Fire
    von Ken Follett
    Fr. 37.90