orellfuessli.ch

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Your Fathers, Where Are They is Dave Eggers's brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of the world.

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions.

'With each tightly controlled book, Eggers's fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling . . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?' Independent

'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America . . . Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola' Mark Lawson, Guardian

'One of our fiercest and most compelling writers' Sunday Times

Rezension
Unmistakably the work of a singular talent. . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?
Portrait

Dave Eggers is the author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, You Shall Know Our Velocity, The Unforbidden is Compulsory, How We Are Hungry, Short Short Stories, Teachers Have It Easy, Surviving Justice, What is the What, How the Water Feels to the Fishes, The Wild Things, Zeitoun, A Hologram for the King, The Circle, Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever? and Heroes of the Frontier. A Hologram for the King and The Circle are both currently in production for major film adaptations.
Dave Eggers is the founder of McSweeney's independent publishing house, the 826 National network, and the nonprofit organisation ScholarMatch. He lives in Northern California with his family.

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 240, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 03.07.2014
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780241971314
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
eBook
Fr. 9.50
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 9.50 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (15)
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 45778775
    The One That Got Away
    von Melissa Pimentel
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 43647451
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 44789245
    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition)
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    (56)
    eBook
    Fr. 15.50
  • 46272622
    Paris for One and Other Stories
    von Jojo Moyes
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 42602660
    Horse Dancer
    von Jojo Moyes
    eBook
    Fr. 5.90
  • 47530067
    The Whistler
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    Fr. 11.90
  • 32307811
    Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey / Fifty Shades Darker / Fifty Shades Freed
    von E L James
    (5)
    eBook
    Fr. 20.50
  • 46333212
    King's Cage
    von Victoria Aveyard
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 47530072
    The Shadow Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    eBook
    Fr. 15.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

von Dave Eggers

eBook
Fr. 9.50
+
=
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage: A Novel by Haruki Murakami (Trivia-On-Books)

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage: A Novel by Haruki Murakami (Trivia-On-Books)

von Trivion Books

eBook
Fr. 4.50
+
=

für

Fr. 14.00

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen