orellfuessli.ch

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Your Fathers, Where Are They is Dave Eggers's brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of the world.

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions.

'With each tightly controlled book, Eggers's fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling . . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?' Independent

'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America . . . Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola' Mark Lawson, Guardian

'One of our fiercest and most compelling writers' Sunday Times

Rezension
Unmistakably the work of a singular talent. . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?
Portrait

Dave Eggers was born in Boston in 1970. He is the author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, You Shall Know Our Velocity, The Unforbidden is Compulsory, How We Are Hungry, Short Short Stories, Teachers Have It Easy, Surviving Justice, What is the What, How the Water Feels to the Fishes, The Wild Things, Zeitoun, A Hologram for the King, The Circle and Your Fathers, Where Are They? And The Prophets, Do They Live Forever? A Hologram for the King and The Circle are both currently in production for major film adaptations.

Dave Eggers is the founder of McSweeney's independent publishing house, the 826 National network, and the nonprofit organisation ScholarMatch. He lives in Northern California with his family and his next novel is forthcoming in 2016.

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 240, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 03.07.2014
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780241971314
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
eBook (ePUB)
Fr. 9.50
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 9.50 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (4)
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 44789245
    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition)
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    (5)
    eBook
    Fr. 15.50
  • 45443890
    Saturday Requiem
    von Nicci French
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 47530067
    Whistler
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    Fr. 11.90
  • 47530072
    The Shadow Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    eBook
    Fr. 15.50
  • 47694635
    The Hanging Tree
    von Ben Aaronovitch
    eBook
    Fr. 10.90
  • 45357963
    Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 46675775
    This Was a Man
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 12.50
  • 46065968
    Two by Two
    von Nicholas Sparks
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 10.90
  • 45779116
    Night School
    von Lee Child
    eBook
    Fr. 16.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

von Dave Eggers

eBook
Fr. 9.50
+
=
Elizabeth is Missing

Elizabeth is Missing

von Emma Healey

eBook
Fr. 7.50
+
=

für

Fr. 17.00

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen