Award winning books in original English editions | Orell Füssli

Award winning books

Longlisted for the Booker Prize 2023

Time Shelter von Winner The International Booker Prize 2023

Time Shelter

Winner The International Booker Prize 2023

A ‘clinic for the past’ run by an enigmatic therapist offers a promising treatment for Alzheimer’s sufferers: each floor reproduces a decade in minute detail, transporting patients back in time to a familiar, safer, happier moment.
Mehr erfahren

Buch (Taschenbuch)

Fr. 18.90


Weitere Formate ab Fr. 12.90

Children's Books


Teens & YA

Maame von Jessica George


Jessica George

Hilarious, honest and heartbreaking, MAAME is the most moving debut of 2023 - and a heroine you'll never forget.
Mehr erfahren

Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

Fr. 24.90


Weitere Formate ab Fr. 0.99





Award-winning books from the English-speaking world

The world of literature has awards which recognise outstanding storytelling and celebrate talented authors. The announcement of who has won a particular award is a highlight of every booklover’s calendar. And winning an award is often the pinnacle of an author’s career, particularly as many awards are judged by their peers and colleagues – distinguished writers, critics, and publishers.

Major awards from across the globe

Some major awards in the English-speaking world concentrate on specific markets, such as the British Book Awards in the UK or the National Book Awards in the USA. Others celebrate excellence in specific genres like the Edgar® Awards for crime and mystery novels, the John Newbery Medal for children’s books and the Michael Printz Award for ya-fiction. Three of the most famous awards are:

  • Booker Prize
    The Booker Prize was initially just open to authors from Commonwealth countries, but now accepts submissions from any author. Since 1969, the prize has been awarded to the best piece of fiction written in English and published in the UK and Ireland. The winners of the last three years were Shehan Karunatilaka, Damon Galgut and Douglas Stuart.
  • Pulitzer Prize
    Established in 1917 to honour excellence in journalism and the arts, Pulitzer Prizes cover a multitude of writing, from investigative reporting to biographies and non-fiction. The award is open to US citizens and recent winners include The Night Watchman by Louise Erdrich (Fiction), Sontag: Her Life and Work by Benjamin Moser (Biography) and Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City by Andrea Elliott (Non-fiction).
  • Women's Prize for Fiction
    Established in the late 1990s, the Women’s Prize for Fiction is only open to female writers and is judged by an all-women panel. It is intended to specifically promote the profile and sales of the authors shortlisted. Award winners include Ruth Ozeki, Zadie Smith, and Lionel Shriver.

Choose an award-winning book online

Choosing which award-winning novel to read next is easy with the online shop at Orell Füssli. We are here all day, every day and our online reviews will guide you to your next page turner. Discover outstanding literature with award-winning books today!