orellfuessli.ch

One of Us is Lying

A Geek, a Jock, a Criminal, a Princess, a Murder. Who would you believe?

(1)
THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars, this is the perfect high school thriller.
Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.
Sports star Cooper only knows what he's doing in the baseball diamond.
Bad boy Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.
Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.
And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won't ever talk about any of them again.
He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it's no accident. All of them are suspects.
Everyone has secrets, right?
What really matters is how far you'll go to protect them.
Rezension
Twisty plotting, breakneck pacing and intriguing characterisation add up to an exciting single-sitting thrillerish treat Guardian
Portrait
Karen M. McManus earned her BA in English from the College of the Holy Cross and her MA in journalism from Northeastern University. When she isn't working or writing in Cambridge, Massachusetts, McManus loves to travel with her son. One of Us Is Lying is her debut novel. To learn more about her, go to her website, karenmcmanus.com, or follow @writerkmc on Twitter.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 368
Altersempfehlung 12 - 15
Erscheinungsdatum 01.06.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-14-137563-2
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 195/128/30 mm
Gewicht 259
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1-2 Werktagen.
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 46694378
    One of Us Is Lying
    von Karen M. McManus
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 15.90
  • 36810420
    Fangirl
    von Rainbow Rowell
    (19)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 44455787
    Orphan X
    von Gregg Hurwitz
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 15.90
  • 48075442
    One Of Us Is Lying
    von Karen M. McManus
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 17936928
    Before I Fall
    von Lauren Oliver
    (8)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 45763008
    Ruined
    von Amy Tintera
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 9.90
  • 43836439
    Selection 5. The Crown
    von Kiera Cass
    (11)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 46395108
    The Upside of Unrequited
    von Becky Albertalli
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 4264670
    Man from St Petersburg
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 45209765
    Girl in Pieces
    von Kathleen Glasgow
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 19903627
    Great Expectations
    von Charles Dickens
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 12.90
  • 58106782
    Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them/Illustr. Ed.
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 49.90
  • 54332944
    Hillbilly Elegy
    von J. D. Vance
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 18.90
  • 21466815
    The Hunger Games Trilogy Boxed Set
    von Suzanne Collins
    (1)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 79.90
  • 45565058
    The Dry
    von Jane Harper
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 45931816
    Der Report der Magd
    von Margaret Atwood
    (52)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 46576306
    The Hate U Give
    von Angie Thomas
    (4)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 62032617
    Sunday Morning Coming Down
    von Nicci French
    eBook
    Fr. 12.00
  • 46395314
    The Woman in Cabin 10
    von Ruth Ware
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 13.90
  • 54331723
    The Late Show
    von Michael Connelly
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 27.90

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

One of Us is Lying
von miss.mesmerized am 21.05.2017

Five students of Bayview High School have to go to detention for having a cell phone with them. They all swear that the mobiles do not belong to them and that they don’t have the least idea how they ended up in their backpacks. Bronwyn, the perfect student with... Five students of Bayview High School have to go to detention for having a cell phone with them. They all swear that the mobiles do not belong to them and that they don’t have the least idea how they ended up in their backpacks. Bronwyn, the perfect student with a flawless record and surely a place at one of the Ivy League colleges; Nate, the constant loser who is currently on probation for drug dealing; Cooper, a promising baseball player; Addy, the girlfriend of one Bayview High’s most wanted boys; and Simon, on the one hand an outsider, on the other the creator and head behind the school’s gossip app who seems to know all the secrets of his class mates. Just a couple of minutes later, Simon is dead and the four remaining students are the prime suspects. Actually, all of them have something to hide as the police soon finds out and their secrets might have lead each single student to murder. They all plead innocent, but apparently one of them must be lying. I really enjoyed this combination of young adult with crime novel. Karen McManus’ four protagonists are interestingly drawn, very singular characters which – of course – show some stereotypical features but which I think is normal for their age where you try to play some role and fit in. The author plays with the reader in bit by bit revealing more about the teenagers and their individual flaws and weaknesses. I did not really expect all of them having these secrets which, in fact, are everything but harmless and could really destroy their lives – well, that’s what happens when they are a finally revealed. I liked the arc of suspense a lot. First of all, there has been a murder quite at the beginning of the story and of course you want to know who committed the crime. But then, all protagonists one after the other tell you that they have something to hide without immediately illuminating you. So apart from the search for the murderer, there is much more you want to find out and which makes you keep on reading. For me, “One of US is Lying” can easily equal novels such as Jay Ashers “Thirteen Reasons Why”, Celeste Ng’s “Everything I Never Told You” or E. Lockhart’s “We Were Liars”.


Wird oft zusammen gekauft

One of Us is Lying - Karen M. McManus

One of Us is Lying

von Karen M. McManus

(1)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
+
=
More Happy Than Not - Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not

von Adam Silvera

Buch (Taschenbuch)
Fr. 16.90
+
=

für

Fr. 33.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale