• Horrorstör
  • Horrorstör

Horrorstör

A Novel

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)

Fr.19.90

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Horrorstör

Ebenfalls verfügbar als:

Taschenbuch

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 19.90
eBook

eBook

ab Fr. 20.90
Hörbuch

Hörbuch

ab Fr. 51.90
  • Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 Einkaufswert Mehr erfahren

    Schweiz & Liechtenstein:

    Versandkostenfrei ab Fr. 30.00
    Versandkosten bis Fr. 30.00: Fr. 3.50

    Andere Lieferländer

    Fr. 18.00 unabhängig vom Warenwert

Beschreibung

Details

Verkaufsrang

198

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

23.09.2014

Verlag

Random House LCC US

Seitenzahl

240

Beschreibung

Rezension

Horrorstör delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror. TheWashington Post

Disarming. The Wall Street Journal

Wildly inventive...Hendrix delivers both a palm-sweating horror story and a laugh-out-loud satire of retail. Esquire

Highly giftable. Buzzfeed

Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery. Nerdist

An inventive, hilarious haunted house tale. Bustle

Hendrix s one-of-a-kind novel is an innovative hybrid of ghost story and satire, at once clever, gruesome, and hilarious. Amazon Book Review
 
If you ve ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you ll get a laugh out of Hendrix s spoof mystery. New York Post

Hendrix is an engaging writer. Santa Fe New Mexican

A clever little horror story...[and] a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living. Kirkus Reviews

A fun horror novel. Library Journal
 
A very clever ghost story. Booklist

The book s packaging as a catalog complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names gives it a charmingly oddball allure. Publishers Weekly

More praise for Grady Hendrix:
National treasure Grady Hendrix follows his classic account of a haunted IKEA-like furniture showroom, Horrorstor (2014), with a nostalgia-soaked ghost story, My Best Friend s Exorcism. The Wall Street Journal, on My Best Friend s Exorcism

Pure, demented delight. The New York Times Book Review, on Paperbacks from Hell

Terrific... Sharply written... [My Best Friend s Exorcism] makes a convincing case for [Hendrix s] powers as a sharp observer of human behavior. The A.V. Club, on My Best Friend s Exorcism

Hendrix s darkest novel yet will leave readers begging for an encore. Booklist, starred review, on We Sold Our Souls

A true appreciation of the genre. Los Angeles Times, on Paperbacks from Hell

Campy. Heartfelt. Horrifying. Minnesota Public Radio, on My Best Friend s Exorcism

Clever, heartfelt, and get-under-your-skin unnerving. Fangoria, on My Best Friend s Exorcism

A good, creepy, music-tinged thriller. CNET, on We Sold Our Souls

Details

Verkaufsrang

198

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

23.09.2014

Verlag

Random House LCC US

Seitenzahl

240

Maße (L/B/H)

22.3/18.4/2 cm

Gewicht

504 g

Sprache

Englisch

ISBN

978-1-59474-526-3

Das meinen unsere Kund*innen

3.0

1 Bewertungen

Informationen zu Bewertungen

Zur Abgabe einer Bewertung ist eine Anmeldung im Kund*innenkonto notwendig. Die Authentizität der Bewertungen wird von uns nicht überprüft. Wir behalten uns vor, Bewertungstexte, die unseren Richtlinien widersprechen, entsprechend zu kürzen oder zu löschen.

5 Sterne

(0)

4 Sterne

(0)

3 Sterne

(1)

2 Sterne

(0)

1 Sterne

(0)

Ikea, but haunted.

Bewertung am 23.11.2022

Bewertet: Buch (Taschenbuch)

The concept behind this novel is its saving grace because I found the execution of the book lacking. The style of the book is intriguing: It is structured like a furniture catalogue and each chapter introduces one furniture item the store sells. It was creative to see those change into monstrous versions of themselves during the novel. I did not care about the characters at all and I disliked how they flip-flopped in their motivations and mindset, which was only justified in the sense that the book needed them to act a certain way to progress the story. This book has been described as a satire and a mix of comedy and horror. The novel does not work for me in either genre. I can't recall one scene of humor that did its job, and the horror aspects felt rather like gross-out moments. Attempting to shock the reader but lacking substance and purpose. I would have liked it better if the book had committed more to the concept 'Yes, we have an eldritch horror in our work place, but the true horror is capitalism'. All in all, I couldn't commit to the suspension of disbelief, but I liked the concept of the novel and would happily watch a movie with the same idea. This was the author's first work, and I've heard good things about his other books, so I am not averse to reading more from him.

Ikea, but haunted.

Bewertung am 23.11.2022
Bewertet: Buch (Taschenbuch)

The concept behind this novel is its saving grace because I found the execution of the book lacking. The style of the book is intriguing: It is structured like a furniture catalogue and each chapter introduces one furniture item the store sells. It was creative to see those change into monstrous versions of themselves during the novel. I did not care about the characters at all and I disliked how they flip-flopped in their motivations and mindset, which was only justified in the sense that the book needed them to act a certain way to progress the story. This book has been described as a satire and a mix of comedy and horror. The novel does not work for me in either genre. I can't recall one scene of humor that did its job, and the horror aspects felt rather like gross-out moments. Attempting to shock the reader but lacking substance and purpose. I would have liked it better if the book had committed more to the concept 'Yes, we have an eldritch horror in our work place, but the true horror is capitalism'. All in all, I couldn't commit to the suspension of disbelief, but I liked the concept of the novel and would happily watch a movie with the same idea. This was the author's first work, and I've heard good things about his other books, so I am not averse to reading more from him.

Unsere Kund*innen meinen

Horrorstör

von Grady Hendrix

3.0

0 Bewertungen filtern

Weitere Artikel finden Sie in

Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
  • Horrorstör
  • Horrorstör