Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

A Novel

Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)

Fr.29.90

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Hörbuch

Hörbuch

Fr. 28.90

Where the Crawdads Sing

Ebenfalls verfügbar als:

Gebundenes Buch

Gebundenes Buch

ab Fr. 29.90
Taschenbuch

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 16.90
eBook

eBook

ab Fr. 3.99
Hörbuch

Hörbuch

ab Fr. 28.90
  • Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 Einkaufswert Mehr erfahren

    Schweiz & Liechtenstein:

    Versandkostenfrei ab Fr. 30.00
    Versandkosten bis Fr. 30.00: Fr. 3.50

    Andere Lieferländer

    Fr. 18.00 unabhängig vom Warenwert

Beschreibung

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING PHENOMENON—NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!
More than 15 million copies sold worldwide
A Reese’s Book Club Pick
A Business Insider Defining Book of the Decade 

“I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!”—Reese Witherspoon

Painfully beautiful.”—The New York Times Book Review

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life—until the unthinkable happens.

Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders and dangers of her private world. The New York Times Book Review

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. People

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver. Bustle

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It s clear she s from this place the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely. Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don t Let s Go to the Dogs Tonight

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. Entertainment Weekly

This wonderful novel has a bit of everything mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina. Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

Delia Owen s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit. Real Simple

Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine. Publishers Weekly

The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut. Southern Living

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist. Refinery29

Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It s the first novel in a long time that made me cry. Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives. Vanity Fair

Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures. Booklist

This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing. AARP 

This haunting tale captivates every bit as much for its crime drama elements as for the humanity at its core. Mystery & Suspense Magazine

Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time. ShelfAwareness

With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut! Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud. Augusta Chronicle

Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls. David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Details

Verkaufsrang

1622

Einband

Gebundene Ausgabe

Erscheinungsdatum

14.08.2018

Verlag

Penguin LCC US

Seitenzahl

384

Beschreibung

Details

Verkaufsrang

1622

Einband

Gebundene Ausgabe

Erscheinungsdatum

14.08.2018

Verlag

Penguin LCC US

Seitenzahl

384

Maße (L/B/H)

16.1/23.3/3.5 cm

Gewicht

579 g

Sprache

Englisch

ISBN

978-0-7352-1909-0

Das meinen unsere Kund*innen

4.4

12 Bewertungen

Informationen zu Bewertungen

Zur Abgabe einer Bewertung ist eine Anmeldung im Kund*innenkonto notwendig. Die Authentizität der Bewertungen wird von uns nicht überprüft. Wir behalten uns vor, Bewertungstexte, die unseren Richtlinien widersprechen, entsprechend zu kürzen oder zu löschen.

5 Sterne

4 Sterne

3 Sterne

(0)

2 Sterne

(0)

1 Sterne

Great but …

Bewertung aus Petershagen am 26.08.2022

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

So beautiful, so exciting especially towards the ending, but I was a bit disappointed at the end … I already expected what would happen and exactly that happened. Still it’s a great book and I really recommend reading it!

Great but …

Bewertung aus Petershagen am 26.08.2022
Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

So beautiful, so exciting especially towards the ending, but I was a bit disappointed at the end … I already expected what would happen and exactly that happened. Still it’s a great book and I really recommend reading it!

Delia Owens

Mila aus Köln am 19.10.2021

Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

I truly did not expect much from this book but as I kept reading, I completely lost the ability to put this book aside. “Where the Crawdads Sing” should without a doubt be your next read. I can almost guarantee you will love it as much as I did.

Delia Owens

Mila aus Köln am 19.10.2021
Bewertet: Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe)

I truly did not expect much from this book but as I kept reading, I completely lost the ability to put this book aside. “Where the Crawdads Sing” should without a doubt be your next read. I can almost guarantee you will love it as much as I did.

Unsere Kund*innen meinen

Where the Crawdads Sing

von Delia Owens

4.4

0 Bewertungen filtern

Weitere Artikel finden Sie in

Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing