The Treeline: The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Prologue Taxus baccata -Yew (Wales)

1. THE ZOMBIE FOREST: Pinus sylvestris - Scots pine (Scotland)

2. CHASING REINDEER: Betula pubescens - Downy birch (Norway)

3. THE SLEEPING BEAR: Larix gmelinii - Dahurian larch (Russia)

4. THE FRONTIER: Picea glauca/Picea marinara - White spruce/Black spruce (Alaska)

5. THE FOREST IN THE SEA: Populus balsamifera - Balsam poplar (Canada)

6. LAST TANGO WITH ICE: Sorbus groelandica - Greenland mountain ash (Greenland)

Epilogue THINKING LIKE A FOREST

Glossary

Acknowledgements

Notes

The Treeline: The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth

The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth

Buch (Gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)

Fr.48.90

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Beschreibung

In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Barry Lopez, a powerful, poetic and deeply absorbing account of the "lung" at the top of the world.

NPR's Best Books/Books We Love; Bloomberg: One of the Ten Most Compelling Books to Put on Your Reading List This Spring; Financial Times' 2022 BOOKS TO WATCH OUT FOR and BEST NEW WRITING ABOUT CLIMATE CHANGE


For the last fifty years, the trees of the boreal forest have been moving north. Ben Rawlence's The Treeline takes us along this critical frontier of our warming planet from Norway to Siberia, Alaska to Greenland, Canada to Sweden to meet the scientists, residents and trees confronting huge geological changes. Only the hardest species survive at these latitudes including the ice-loving Dahurian larch of Siberia, the antiseptic Spruce that purifies our atmosphere, the Downy birch conquering Scandinavia, the healing Balsam poplar that Native Americans use as a cure-all and the noble Scots Pine that lives longer when surrounded by its family.

It is a journey of wonder and awe at the incredible creativity and resilience of these species and the mysterious workings of the forest upon which we rely for the air we breathe. Blending reportage with the latest science, The Treeline is a story of what might soon be the last forest left and what that means for the future of all life on earth.

Details

Einband

Gebundene Ausgabe

Erscheinungsdatum

15.02.2022

Verlag

St Martins Pr

Seitenzahl

320

Beschreibung

Details

Einband

Gebundene Ausgabe

Erscheinungsdatum

15.02.2022

Verlag

St Martins Pr

Seitenzahl

320

Maße (L/B/H)

24.1/16.7/3 cm

Gewicht

507 g

Sprache

Englisch

ISBN

978-1-250-27023-8

Das meinen unsere Kund*innen

0.0

0 Bewertungen

Informationen zu Bewertungen

Zur Abgabe einer Bewertung ist eine Anmeldung im Kund*innenkonto notwendig. Die Authentizität der Bewertungen wird von uns nicht überprüft. Wir behalten uns vor, Bewertungstexte, die unseren Richtlinien widersprechen, entsprechend zu kürzen oder zu löschen.

Verfassen Sie die erste Bewertung zu diesem Artikel

Helfen Sie anderen Kund*innen durch Ihre Meinung

Erste Bewertung verfassen

Unsere Kund*innen meinen

0.0

0 Bewertungen filtern

  • The Treeline: The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth
  • Prologue Taxus baccata -Yew (Wales)

    1. THE ZOMBIE FOREST: Pinus sylvestris - Scots pine (Scotland)

    2. CHASING REINDEER: Betula pubescens - Downy birch (Norway)

    3. THE SLEEPING BEAR: Larix gmelinii - Dahurian larch (Russia)

    4. THE FRONTIER: Picea glauca/Picea marinara - White spruce/Black spruce (Alaska)

    5. THE FOREST IN THE SEA: Populus balsamifera - Balsam poplar (Canada)

    6. LAST TANGO WITH ICE: Sorbus groelandica - Greenland mountain ash (Greenland)

    Epilogue THINKING LIKE A FOREST

    Glossary

    Acknowledgements

    Notes