Meine Filiale

Holding Up the Universe

Jennifer Niven

(17)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 14.90
Fr. 14.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 14.90

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

ab Fr. 19.90

Accordion öffnen
  • Holding Up the Universe

    Random House N.Y.

    Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen

    Fr. 19.90

    Random House N.Y.
  • Holding Up the Universe

    Thorndike Press

    wird besorgt, Lieferzeit unbekannt

    Fr. 49.90

    Thorndike Press

eBook (ePUB)

Fr. 7.50

Accordion öffnen

Hörbuch (CD)

Fr. 81.90

Accordion öffnen
  • Holding Up The Universe     8d

    CD (2016)

    Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen

    Fr. 81.90

    CD (2016)

Beschreibung

★ "[Niven] creates two indelible characters and a heart-stopping romance." —
Publishers Weekly starred review

★ "Written in short chapters of alternating perspectives, this is a thoughtful exploration of identity and self-acceptance, with commentary on overcoming adversities that will hit close to home." —
School Library Journal starred review


★ "This is a worthy addition to any young adult collection; the story is engaging and difficult to put down." —
VOYA starred review

"Niven’s honest writing shares a story of friendship, confidence, strength, and identity—and it’s
not one to be missed." 
—Buzzfeed

"Libby and Jack are two characters who will  reach out of the page and climb into your heart! . . . [A] beautiful love story." —Justine Magazine


"A novel about love and how important it is to be seen." —
Popsugar

"Moving. . . . The true heart of the tale lies in personal growth and learning to love yourself." 
—Bookish


“I've never fallen in love with characters as fast as I fell for Libby and Jack. . . . 
Holding Up the Universe is a beautiful reminder of the power of understanding.” —Jay Asher, #1 
New York Times bestselling author of 
Thirteen Reasons Why

 


Gorgeously written and oh-so-deeply felt, 
Holding Up the Universe contains one of my favorite characters of all time! You will absolutely fall in love with Libby Strout!” —Nicola Yoon, #1 
New York Times bestselling author of 
Everything, Everything

 

“At once hilarious and achingly poignant, Jennifer Niven’s 
Holding up the Universe 
brims with love and heart and hope. A gorgeous, life-affirming book that—like its lovable and resilient main character, Libby—will make you want to open your arms wide, lift your face to the sky, and twirl.” —Kerry Kletter, author of 
The First Time She Drowned

Praise for All the Bright Places:


“[A] 
heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids.” —
Entertainment Weekly

 

“A 
do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars
, and basically anyone who can breathe.” 
—Justine Magazine

 

“At the heart—a big one—of 
All the Bright Places lies a 
charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers.” 
—The New York Times Book Review

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 416
Altersempfehlung 14 - 17 Jahr(e)
Erscheinungsdatum 01.05.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-385-75595-5
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 20.8/13.9/2.7 cm
Gewicht 338 g
Verkaufsrang 8350

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
17 Bewertungen
Übersicht
14
2
1
0
0

Buch
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Nürnberg am 23.01.2021

Das Buch ist super spannend und auf Thalia kann man sich wirklich immer verlassen.

Eine Geschichte über Selbstbewusstsein, Mut, Stärke und Liebe
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 10.08.2020
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Libby lebt nach dem Tod ihrer Mutter in völliger Isolation und nimmt zunehmend an Gewicht an, bis sie schließlich "Americas fattest teen" wird. Nach und nach kehrt sie in das normale Leben zurück und in die Highschool zurück. Dort hat sie es nicht leicht, denn sie wird von vielen Mitschülern aufgrund ihres Gewichts grausam bele... Libby lebt nach dem Tod ihrer Mutter in völliger Isolation und nimmt zunehmend an Gewicht an, bis sie schließlich "Americas fattest teen" wird. Nach und nach kehrt sie in das normale Leben zurück und in die Highschool zurück. Dort hat sie es nicht leicht, denn sie wird von vielen Mitschülern aufgrund ihres Gewichts grausam beleidigt. Libby kämpft jedoch mit ihrem starkem Selbstbewusstsein dagegen an. Eines Tages trifft sie auf Jack, der an Prosopagnosie leidet und Gesichter nach wenigen Sekunden vergisst. Er ist aufgrund seines guten Aussehens sehr beliebt auf der Schule, doch erst die Begegnung mit Libby macht ihm klar, dass davor niemand seine inneren Werte und Gefühle sieht, außer Libby. Beide machen im Laufe der Geschichte eine Entwicklung durch und finden mehr und mehr zueinander. Der Schreibstil war für mich etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig. Mit der englischen Sprache in dem Buch hatte ich allerdings keine Probleme, da kein schweres Vokabular verwendet wurde. Libby war mir von Anfang an sehr sympathisch, auch aufgrund ihres großen Selbstbewusstseins. Viele Aussagen und Taten haben mich zum Nachdenken angeregt. Sie lässt sich eben nicht aufgrund ihres Gewichts schlechter behandeln und zeigt ihren Stolz und Mut ihren Mitschülern. Libby macht dem Leser deutlich, dass jeder, egal wie man aussieht oder woher man kommt, gewollt ist. "You are wanted". Jack bewundert ihr Selbstbewusstsein. Er hat zwar keine Probleme in der Schule, doch seine Krankheit macht ihm den Alltag schwer. Niemand von seinen Freunden weiß von seiner Krankheit, sie sehen nur seine Fassade. Durch Libby erkennt er seine inneren Werte und lernt zu seiner Krankheit zu stehen. Er ist nicht nur der beliebte Footballspieler mit der gut aussehenden Freundin, er ist viel mehr als das. Als er Gefühle für Libby entwickelt, wird er von seinen Freunden gehänselt, doch Jack erlangt viel Mut und steht zu seiner Liebe. Das Buch bis zum Ende hin sehr berührend. Deswegen empfehle ich diese Buch auf jeden Fall weiter, denn am Ende hat man gefühlt ein Stück mehr Selbstbewusstsein gewonnen.

von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 23.06.2020
Bewertet: anderes Format

Characters you like from the get-go and a story that touches your heart. Niven has written a beautiful story about two teenagers who still need to find themselves in a chaotic world while each still faces problems of their own.This is a coming-of-age book that swallows you whole!

  • Artikelbild-0
  • Libby

    If a genie popped out of my bedside lamp, I would wish for these three things: my mom to be alive, nothing bad or sad to ever happen again, and to be a member of the Martin Van Buren High School Damsels, the best drill team in the tristate area.

    But what if the Damsels don't want you?

    It is 3:38 a.m., and the time of night when my mind starts running around all wild and out of control, like my cat, George, when he was a kitten. All of a sudden, there goes my brain, climbing the curtains. There it is, swinging from the bookshelf. There it is, with its paw in the fish tank and its head underwater.

    I lie on my bed, staring up into the dark, and my mind bounces across the room.

    What if you get trapped again? What if they have to knock down the cafeteria door or the bathroom wall to get you out? What if your dad gets married and then he dies and you're left with the new wife and stepsiblings? What if you die? What if there is no heaven and you never see your mom again?

    I tell myself to sleep.

    I close my eyes and lie very still.

    Very still.

    For minutes.

    I make my mind lie there with me and tell it, Sleep, sleep, sleep.

    What if you get to school and realize that things are different and kids are different, and no matter how much you try, you will never be able to catch up to them?

    I open my eyes.

    My name is Libby Strout. You've probably heard of me. You've probably watched the video of me being rescued from my own house. At last count, 6,345,981 people have watched it, so there's a good chance you're one of them. Three years ago, I was America's Fattest Teen. I weighed 653 pounds at my heaviest, which means I was approximately 500 pounds overweight. I haven't always been fat. The short version of the story is that my mom died and I got fat, but somehow I'm still here. This is in no way my father's fault.

    Two months after I was rescued, we moved to a different neighbor-hood on the other side of town. These days I can leave the house on my own. I've lost 302 pounds. The size of two entire people. I have around 190 left to go, and I'm fine with that. I like who I am. For one thing, I can run now. And ride in the car. And buy clothes at the mall instead of special-ordering them. And I can twirl. Aside from no longer being afraid of organ failure, that may be the best thing about now versus then.

    Tomorrow is my first day of school since fifth grade. My new title will be high school junior, which, let's face it, sounds a lot better than America's Fattest Teen. But it's hard to be anything but TERRIFIED OUT OF MY SKULL.

    I wait for the panic attack to come.

    Jack

    Caroline Lushamp calls before my alarm goes off, but I let her go to voice mail. I know whatever it is, it's not going to be good and it will be my fault.

    She calls three times but only leaves one message. I almost delete it without listening, but what if her car broke down and she's in trouble? This is, after all, the girl I've dated off and on for the past four years. (We're that couple. That on-again, off-again everyone-assumes-we'll-end-up-together-forever couple.)

    Jack, it's me. I know we're taking a break or whatever but she's my cousin. My COUSIN. I mean, MY COUSIN, JACK! If you wanted to get back at me for breaking up with you, then congratulations, jerkwad, you've done it. If you see me in class today or in the hallways or in the cafeteria or ANYWHERE ELSE ON EARTH, do not talk to me. Actually, just do me a favor and go to hell.

    Three minutes later, the cousin calls, and at first I think she's crying, but then you can hear Caroline in the background, and the cousin starts yelling and Caroline starts yelling. I delete the message.

    Two minutes later, Dave Kaminski sends a text to warn me that Reed Young wants to kick my face in for making out with his girlfriend. I text, I owe you. And I mean it. If I'm keeping score, Kam's helped me out more times than I've helped him