Jeanette Gray Finnegan Jr.

Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 21.90
Fr. 21.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i

Weitere Formate


Fr. 21.90

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

Fr. 9.40

Accordion öffnen


Living in the shadow of the mighty Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, miles from the village, Ellie, Luke and Blake exist in a world of spirits, mystical wolves, and stories told by their grandfather, the keeper of the lighthouse. In this five volume series, the three children of the Jennette family travel back in time to discover the origin of their ancestors and the events that shaped the civilization of Cape Hatteras Island. Throughout the series, islanders live as they did when only an occcasional mail boat kept them connected to the rest of the world----before a bridge linked the island to the mainland, before tourists flocked to the area during the summer season, and before the government became involved in managing the land. Isolated from others, they created a life of comfort and community, one that is long lost. In each subsequent volume, the Lighthouse Kids meet the people and experiencce the events that gradually transformed Cape Hatteras Island to the popular resort area it is today.
In Croatoan, with their wolves as protectors, the trio is transported back to the late 1500's to live with Manteo, the son of the chief of the Croatoan Indians. Taking part in the Native American way of life, they learn to hunt for food, participate in tribal ceremonies, and even take an adventurous trip to the mainland, to extract the first English colony from the hostile indians living across the water from Hatteras Island. This colony historically has been dubbed "The Lost Colony". Through Weroansquoa, the chieftress of the Croatoan Indians, Ellie learns to tap into her spiritual powers. These powers are retained throughout the series of five books on the history of Cape Hatteras. The gifts are used in all the future exploits and adventures as one travels through time to discover the history of this island.

Jeanette Gray Finnegan Jr., was born in the village of Hatteras, on Hatteras Island, in what was then, the back room which had one hospital bed, a local midwife, medicines, and multiple shortwave radios which could be used to contact the hospitals on the mainlan. The village of Hatteras, one of seven on the island, was the closest place for a plane to land should the patient need to be "taken off" (island speak for 'one too sick to be attended to by anyone without a medical degree').
She spent her childhood surrounded by an extended family which included parents, grandparents, uncles, and kin.
During World War II, while her father and uncles fought in both the Atlantic annd Pacific theaters, she, her older brother and her mother lived in the big room upstairs of of her grandparents' house.
Jaye, as she is known, moved "off island" to attend highschool and college, and taught secondary school for thirty-five years in the Virginia public school system before coming back to the island to live.
She writes in the solitude of the third floor loft of her home, with views of both sound and sea. Surrounded by books--borrowed, bought, downloaded, or checked out from various libraries---she studied the written history of the island and wove the tales in these books from fact, experience, and a grandmother's longing to convey the island's history to her grandchildren in an interesting enough way for them to enjoy the tales.
The impact of growing up in this magical place, her pride in the people of the island and their accomplishments, permeate the pages.


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 212
Erscheinungsdatum 01.02.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-59715-116-0
Verlag Jeanette Gray Finnegan Jr.
Maße (L/B/H) 22.9/15.2/1.2 cm
Gewicht 334 g


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0