Meine Filiale

Ten Masterpieces of Music

Harvey Sachs

Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 51.90
Fr. 51.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Erscheint demnächst Versandkostenfrei
Erscheint demnächst

Weitere Formate

gebundene Ausgabe

Fr. 51.90

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

Fr. 33.90

Accordion öffnen


In this magisterial volume, Harvey Sachs, author of the highly acclaimed biography Toscanini, takes readers into the heart of ten great works of classical music-works that have endured because they were created by composers who had a genius for drawing music out of their deepest wellsprings. These masters-Mozart and Beethoven; Schubert, Schumann, Berlioz, Verdi, and Brahms; Sibelius, Prokofiev, and Stravinsky-communicated their life experiences through music, and through music they universalized the intimate.

By expanding our perceptions of these ten pieces-composed in the years between 1784 and 1966-Sachs, in lush, exquisite prose, invites us to consider why music stimulates, disturbs, exalts, and consoles us. He has lived with these masterpieces for a lifetime, and his descriptions of them and the dramatic lives of the composers who wrote them bring a heightened dimension to the musical perceptions of readers who may be casual listeners, students, professional musicians, or anyone in between.

Harvey Sachs is the author or coauthor of eleven books and has written for The New Yorker, the New York Times, and the Times Literary Supplement, among many other publications. He lives in New York City and is on the faculty of the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia.


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 336
Erscheinungsdatum 26.10.2021
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-63149-518-2
Verlag Liveright Pub Corp


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0