Meine Filiale

The Complete Stories

Winner of the National Book Award 1972

Flannery O'Connor

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 23.90
Fr. 23.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i

Weitere Formate


ab Fr. 23.90

Accordion öffnen
  • The Complete Stories

    Macmillan US

    Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen

    Fr. 23.90

    Macmillan US
  • The Complete Stories

    Faber & Faber

    Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen

    Fr. 23.90

    Faber & Faber

eBook (ePUB)

Fr. 14.90

Accordion öffnen


Winner of the National Book Award

The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime--Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find.

O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgement Day"--sent to her publisher shortly before her death-is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century. Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.

Flannery O'Connor was born in Savannah, Georgia, in 1925. When she died at the age of thirty-nine, America lost one of its most gifted writers at the height of her powers. O'Connor wrote two novels, Wise Blood (1952) and The Violent Bear It Away (1960), and two story collections, A Good Man Is Hard to Find (1955) and Everything That Rises Must Converge (1964). Her Complete Stories, published posthumously in 1972, won the National Book Award that year, and in a 2009 online poll it was voted as the best book to have won the award in the contest's 60-year history. Her essays were published in Mystery and Manners (1969) and her letters in The Habit of Being (1979). In 1988 the Library of America published her Collected Works; she was the first postwar writer to be so honored. O'Connor was educated at the Georgia State College for Women, studied writing at the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and wrote much of Wise Blood at the Yaddo artists' colony in upstate New York. She lived most of her adult life on her family's ancestral farm, Andalusia, outside Milledgeville, Georgia.


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 555
Altersempfehlung 14 - 18 Jahr(e)
Erscheinungsdatum 01.01.1971
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-374-51536-2
Reihe FSG Classics
Verlag Macmillan US
Maße (L/B/H) 21/14.1/4.2 cm
Gewicht 487 g
Verkaufsrang 35192


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Introduction by Robert Giroux

    The Geranium
    The Barber
    The Crop
    The Turkey
    The Train
    The Peeler
    The Heart of the Park
    A Stroke of Good Fortune
    Enoch and the Gorilla
    A Good Man Is Hard to Find
    A Late Encounter with the Enemy
    The Life You Save May Be Your Own
    The River
    A Circle in the Fire
    The Displaced Person
    A Temple of the Holy Ghost
    The Artificial Nigger
    Good Country People
    You Can't Be Any Poorer Than Dead
    A View of the Woods
    The Enduring Chill
    The Comforts of Home
    Everything That Rises Must Converge
    The Partridge Festival
    The Lame Shall Enter First
    Why Do the Heathen Rage?
    Parker's Back
    Judgement Day