Meine Filiale


A Novel in Nine Parts. Winner of the Mail on Sunday/John Llewelllyn Rhys Prize 1999

David Mitchell

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
Fr. 16.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i

Weitere Formate


ab Fr. 16.90

Accordion öffnen


ab Fr. 7.00

Accordion öffnen


@2@@20@Winner of the @18@Mail on Sunday@19@/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize.@21@@3@@2@@20@A magnificent achievement and an engrossing experience, David Mitchell's first novel announced the arrival of one of the most exciting writers of the twenty-first century. @21@@3@@2@An apocalyptic cult member carries out a gas attack on a rush-hour metro, but what links him to a jazz buff in downtown Tokyo? Or to a Mongolian gangster, a woman on a holy mountain who talks to a tree, and a late night New York DJ?@3@@2@Set at the fugitive edges of Asia and Europe, @18@Ghostwritten @19@weaves together a host of characters, their interconnected destinies determined by the inescapable forces of cause and effect.@3@

An astonishing debut. Independent

Born in 1969, David Mitchell grew up in Worcestershire. After graduating from Kent University, he taught English in Japan, where he wrote his first novel, Ghostwritten . Published in 1999, it was awarded the Mail on Sunday John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award. His second novel, number9dream , was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and in 2003, David Mitchell was selected as one of Granta 's Best of Young British Novelists. His third novel, Cloud Atlas , was shortlisted for six awards including the Man Booker Prize, and adapted for film in 2012. It was followed by Black Swan Green , shortlisted for the Costa Novel of the Year Award, and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet , which was a No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller. Both were also longlisted for the Booker.

In 2013, The Reason I Jump: One Boy's Voice From the Silence of Autism by Naoki Higashida was published in a translation from the Japanese by David Mitchell and KA Yoshida. David Mitchell's sixth novel is The Bone Clocks (Sceptre, 2014).

Demands to be read and re-read ... an astonishing debut Lawrence Norfolk, Independent 'The accolades are well deserved..Ghostwritten is a wide-reaching, mult-layered novel...Mitchell also captures a tenderness, a yearning for something deeper, just below what often appears in as a bleak and cheerless surface' The Observer 'Mitchell's dazzling debut covers a lot of geography and a vast range of topics. The whole magpie's nest is loosely bundled into the net bag of a fiercely incomprehensible and mystical plot. Gracefully written, Mitchell is definitely a new name to look out for. The Times One of the best first novels I've read in a long time ... I couldn't put it down AS Byatt, Mail on Sunday A firework display ... a remarkable novel by a young writer of remarkable talent Observer 'One of those ingeniously interlinked stories that can take some following at times but which make a thoroughly entertaining mix' Manchester Evening News 'Technically accomplished, but consistently funny and affecting: if you want to know what the distinctive literature of the 21st century will look like, begin here' Boyd Tonkin, Independent The best first novel I have read in ages ... it beguiles, informs, shocks and captivates. William Boyd, Daily Telegraph Books of the Fabulously atmospheric and wryly perceptive ... a huge new talent Guardian Books of the Year The best modern novel I have read for some time Rachel Cusk, Express on Sunday A remarkable first novel ... Eastern, ethereal, yet flecked with flashes of commando grit, this multi-faceted novel is full of surprises Time Out


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 448
Erscheinungsdatum 20.04.2000
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-340-73975-4
Verlag Hodder And Stoughton
Maße (L/B/H) 19.8/12.6/3.5 cm
Gewicht 309 g
Auflage 2. Auflage


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Artikelbild-1
  • Artikelbild-2