Meine Filiale

The Utopia Of Rules

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

David Graeber

Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 37.90
Fr. 37.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Erscheint in neuer Auflage Versandkostenfrei
Erscheint in neuer Auflage
Versandkostenfrei

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 26.90

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

Fr. 37.90

Accordion öffnen

Beschreibung

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives

Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?

To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber-one of our most important and provocative thinkers-traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing-even romantic-about bureaucracy.

Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.

An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us-and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

David Graeber (1961-2020) was a professor of anthropology at the London School of Economics. One of the original organizers of Occupy Wall Street, Graeber was also the author of
Utopia of Rules and wrote widely for publications such as
The Guardian,
Harper’s,
The Baffler, The Wall Street Journal, n+1, The Nation,
The Washington Post, The New Inquiry, and
The New Left Review.

Produktdetails

Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 272
Erscheinungsdatum 12.03.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-61219-374-8
Verlag Melville House
Maße (L/B/H) 22.8/14.9/3 cm
Gewicht 414 g
Abbildungen mit Illustrationen

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Contents

    Introduction: The Iron Law of Liberalism and the Era of Total Bureaucratization

    1. Dead Zones of the Imagination: An Essay on Structural Stupidity

    2. Of Flying Cars and the Declining Rate of Profit

    3. The Utopia of Rules, or Why We Really Love Bureaucracy After All

    4. Appendix: On Batman and the Problem of Constituent Power

    Notes