Meine Filiale

Barkskins

Annie Proulx

Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 39.90
Fr. 39.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig innert 6 Wochen Versandkostenfrei
Versandfertig innert 6 Wochen
Versandkostenfrei

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 19.90

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

ab Fr. 39.90

Accordion öffnen
  • Barkskins

    Scribner USA

    Versandfertig innert 6 Wochen

    Fr. 39.90

    Scribner USA
  • Barkskins -Lp

    Thorndike Press

    Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen

    Fr. 54.90

    Thorndike Press

eBook

ab Fr. 7.57

Accordion öffnen

Hörbuch (CD)

Fr. 69.90

Accordion öffnen
  • BARKSKINS                  21D

    CD (2016)

    Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen

    Fr. 69.90

    CD (2016)

Beschreibung

Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020!
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book


From the Pulitzer Prize–­­winning author of
The Shipping News and “Brokeback Mountain,” comes the
New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world’s forests: “
Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx’s distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written” (
San Francisco Chronicle).

In the late seventeenth century two penniless young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord, a “
seigneur,” for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters—barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a Mi’kmaw woman and their descendants live trapped between two inimical cultures. But Duquet, crafty and ruthless, runs away from the seigneur, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years—their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand, under stunningly brutal conditions—the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over again, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

Proulx’s inimitable genius is her creation of characters who are so vivid—in their greed, lust, vengefulness, or their simple compassion and hope—that we follow them with fierce attention. Annie Proulx is one of the most formidable and compelling American writers, and
Barkskins is her greatest novel, a magnificent marriage of history and imagination.

Annie Proulx is the author of eight books, including the novel
The Shipping News and the story collection
Close Range. Her many honors include a Pulitzer Prize, a National Book Award, the Irish Times International Fiction Prize, and a PEN/Faulkner award. Her story “Brokeback Mountain,” which originally appeared in
The New Yorker, was made into an Academy Award-winning film. Her most recent novel is
Barkskins. She lives in Seattle.

Produktdetails

Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 736
Erscheinungsdatum 14.06.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7432-8878-1
Verlag Scribner USA
Maße (L/B/H) 24.4/16.1/5.3 cm
Gewicht 1089 g

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0