Meine Filiale

Barkskins

A Novel

Annie Proulx

eBook
eBook
Fr. 11.20
Fr. 11.20
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
Sofort per Download lieferbar
Sie können dieses eBook verschenken  i

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 19.90

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

ab Fr. 39.90

Accordion öffnen
  • Barkskins

    Scribner USA

    Versandfertig innert 6 Wochen

    Fr. 39.90

    Scribner USA
  • Barkskins -Lp

    Thorndike Press

    Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen

    Fr. 54.90

    Thorndike Press

eBook

ab Fr. 7.57

Accordion öffnen

Hörbuch (CD)

Fr. 69.90

Accordion öffnen
  • BARKSKINS                  21D

    CD (2016)

    Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen

    Fr. 69.90

    CD (2016)

Beschreibung

Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020!
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book

From the Pulitzer Prize-­­winning author of The Shipping News and "Brokeback Mountain," comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world's forests: "Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy…the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx's distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written" (San Francisco Chronicle).

In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters—barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years—their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand—the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

"A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history…with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading" (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx's inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. "This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice" (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins "is an awesome monument of a book" (The Washington Post)—"the masterpiece she was meant to write" (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, "This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of 'Brokeback Mountain.'"

Annie Proulx

Produktdetails

Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz Ja i
Family Sharing Nein i
Text-to-Speech Ja i
Seitenzahl 736 (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 14.06.2016
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9781476771823
Verlag Simon + Schuster
Dateigröße 6935 KB

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0