Meine Filiale

Symptoms of Being Human

Jeff Garvin

(2)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 13.90
Fr. 13.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

Fr. 13.90

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

Fr. 27.90

Accordion öffnen
  • Symptoms of Being Human

    US Books

    Versandfertig innert 6 - 9 Werktagen

    Fr. 27.90

    US Books

Beschreibung

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

Before becoming a writer, Jeff Garvin acted in films and TV and was the front man of a nationally touring rock band. He is the author of Symptoms of Being Human, which was a Lambda Literary Award finalist and was also named one of the YALSA Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, was an ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, and was on the 2017 Rainbow Book List, and The Lightness of Hands. Jeff lives in Southern California, surrounded by adorable, shedding beasts.

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 368
Altersempfehlung ab 14 Jahr(e)
Erscheinungsdatum 14.11.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-06-238287-0
Verlag Harper Collins (US)
Maße (L/B/H) 20/13.4/2.5 cm
Gewicht 255 g

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
2
0
0
0
0

Heartwarming and Cute and Cruel and Sad and Wonderful!
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Mainz am 13.01.2021
Bewertet: Format: eBook (ePUB)

This book feels like a good high school movie. We got bullies, love, puberty, LGBT and punk rock. :) This hidden gem certainly is an insider tip, especially if you're from LGBT community. However, also non-LGBT reader may enjoy this! This novel is made up, but the author did some great research. So, it's all about the story a... This book feels like a good high school movie. We got bullies, love, puberty, LGBT and punk rock. :) This hidden gem certainly is an insider tip, especially if you're from LGBT community. However, also non-LGBT reader may enjoy this! This novel is made up, but the author did some great research. So, it's all about the story and feelings and being human - it's a novel after all. For those who are related to LGBT may be reminded of how puberty felt and those who are not related to LGBT will simply feel with our protagonist. Either way, you better have some tissues at the ready. :)

Boy or Girl? YES.
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 01.04.2017
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about gender fluidity and also mentions ... Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about gender fluidity and also mentions other aspects of the lgbt+ community. In this story we follow Riley who sometimes is a girl and other times a boy. It's not easy to come out though, whether to friends or family, because Riley's father is a congressman running for reelection, is constantly on the media and has to attend many events. To help Riley with anxiety and depression a therapist advices to start a blog. But Riley's anonymous blog soon goes viral and Riley has to decide if everything is too much and if the account shoud be deleted or not. We read about the protagonist's struggles within the new school, how Riley handles the bullies and how friends come along the way. This is a beautiful book with great writing. We definitely need more stories with characters like Riley.

  • Artikelbild-0