Meine Filiale

Far From The Tree

Robin Benway

(2)
eBook
eBook
Fr. 5.10
Fr. 5.10
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
Sofort per Download lieferbar
Sie können dieses eBook verschenken  i

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 13.90

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

Fr. 19.90

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

Fr. 5.10

Accordion öffnen

Beschreibung

WINNER OF THE U.S. NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 2017 FOR YOUNG PEOPLE'S LITERATURE!

'Sometimes, family hurts each other. But after that's done you bandage each other up, and you move on. Together. So you can go and think that you're some lone wolf, but you're not. You've got us now, like it or not, and we've got you.'

When 16 year-old Grace gives up her baby for adoption, she decides that the time has come to find out more about her own biological mother. Although her biological mum proves elusive, her search leads her to two half-siblings she never knew existed.
Maya, 15, has been adopted by wealthy parents and seems to have the picture-perfect family - that is, if you look past her alcoholic mother and the fact that Maya stands out like a sore thumb.
Older brother Joaquin hasn't been so lucky. At 18, he's shuffled between foster home after foster home, always careful never to get attached to anyone or anything, because it always gets taken away.
When these three siblings come together, they find in themselves the place they can belong, while the secrets they guard threaten to explode...

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Nicola Yoon, Far From the Tree is a raw, compelling, and ultimately uplifting story of what it means to be family.

'Benway's unforgettable novel explores the paradoxes and entanglements of unconventional families … It's a melodrama, to be sure, but with as much brain as heart. Benway writes with remarkable control and has the rare talent of almost vanishing as an author as she inhabits each character's perspective.' The New York Times
'Family issues are neither airbrushed nor oversimplified... From the first page to the last, this compassionate, funny, moving, compulsively readable novel about what makes a family gets it right.' Kirkus Reviews
'Equally heartwarming and heart-wrenching... Benway delves into the souls of these characters as they wrestle to overcome feelings of inadequacy, abandonment, and betrayal, gradually coming to understand themselves and each other.' Publishers Weekly
'Far from the Tree is the kind of book that strikes close to a reader's heart. I had to know what happened to Grace, Maya, and Joaquin, and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. Beautiful.' Ally Condie, author of The Matched Trilogy
'Far From the Tree is a touching story about the strength and love of unconventional families, and the unbreakable bond of siblings near and far. Robin Benway's characters are authentically crafted, full of heart, hurt, and hope.' Brandy Colbert, author of Pointe and Little & Lion
'In the eloquent confidence of its life-embracing argument, the book really is something special' The Wall Street Journal

Praise for Emmy & Oliver:
'Robin Benway writes with her full heart. Emmy & Oliver is a genuinely sweet and funny novel bursting with the inextinguishable forces of love-between parents and children, distant and inseparable friends, new and reunited lovers.' Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After
'Emmy & Oliver is wonderful. Funny, heartbreaking, and true. Robin Benway has written characters I felt like I'd known forever, and was so sad to see go. A must-read.' Morgan Matson, author of Since You've Been Gone

Robin Benway is a National Book Award finalist and the author of novels for young adults, including Emmy & Oliver. Her books have received numerous awards and recognition. She currently lives in Los Angeles, where she spends her time hanging out with her dog, Hudson, making coffee, and procrastinating on writing.

Produktdetails

Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz Ja i
Family Sharing Nein i
Text-to-Speech Ja i
Seitenzahl 384 (Printausgabe)
Altersempfehlung 12 - 99 Jahr(e)
Erscheinungsdatum 09.11.2017
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9781471164347
Verlag Simon + Schuster
Dateigröße 4368 KB

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
1
1
0
0
0

von someone am 25.12.2018
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

I really really like it. I love that it's all about family and different kinds of love and I immediatly took to the characters and it's one of my favourite books. I'm not gonna promise that you'll love it cause that totally depends on what you like but you should definitely give this book a chance!

Heavy emotions ahead!
von Lisa F. aus Berlin am 03.12.2017
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

I think Robin Benway is too much of an underrated author. I have yet to find a book of her that I didn't like. I love her characters and the stories she tells. She also handles emotions very well, as this book is clearly an indication for it. I was hooked from the very first page and immediately taken to Grace, Maya and Joaqu... I think Robin Benway is too much of an underrated author. I have yet to find a book of her that I didn't like. I love her characters and the stories she tells. She also handles emotions very well, as this book is clearly an indication for it. I was hooked from the very first page and immediately taken to Grace, Maya and Joaquin. I loved that family and love were the main topics, it made my heart swell with emotion the entire time I was reading this book. All the relationships between all the charcters felt so authentic and real, Robin Benway is a clear natural at characterization. I want to keep reading Robin Benway's books for the rest of my life because they always make me happy.


  • Artikelbild-0