orellfuessli.ch

Avenue of Mysteries

(2)
John Irving returns to the themes that established him as one of our most admired and beloved authors in this absorbing novel of fate and memory.

In Avenue of Mysteries, Juan Diego—a fourteen-year-old boy, who was born and grew up in Mexico—has a thirteen-year-old sister. Her name is Lupe, and she thinks she sees what´s coming—specifically, her own future and her brother´s. Lupe is a mind reader; she doesn´t know what everyone is thinking, but she knows what most people are thinking. Regarding what has happened, as opposed to what will, Lupe is usually right about the past; without your telling her, she knows all the worst things that have happened to you.

Lupe doesn´t know the future as accurately. But consider what a terrible burden it is, if you believe you know the future—especially your own future, or, even worse, the future of someone you love. What might a thirteen-year-old girl be driven to do, if she thought she could change the future?

As an older man, Juan Diego will take a trip to the Philippines, but what travels with him are his dreams and memories; he is most alive in his childhood and early adolescence in Mexico. As we grow older—most of all, in what we remember and what we dream—we live in the past. Sometimes, we live more vividly in the past than in the present.

Avenue of Mysteries is the story of what happens to Juan Diego in the Philippines, where what happened to him in the past—in Mexico—collides with his future.
Rezension
"From the first page to the last, there is a goodness to this novel, a tenacious belief in love and the redemptive power of human connection, unfettered by institutions and conventions. This belief, combined with good old-fashioned storytelling, is surely why Irving is so often described as Dickensian. But John Irving is his own thing, and so is his new novel. Avenue of Mysteries is thoroughly modern, accessibly brainy, hilariously eccentric and beautifully human." The New York Times Book Review
Portrait
John Irving was born in Exeter, New Hampshire, in 1942. His first novel, Setting Free the Bears, was published in 1968, when he was twenty-six. He competed as a wrestler for twenty years, and coached wrestling until he was forty-seven. Mr. Irving has been nominated for a National Book Award three times—winning once, in 1980, for his novel The World According to Garp. He received an O. Henry Award in 1981 for his short story “Interior Space.” In 2000, Mr. Irving won the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay for The Cider House Rules. In 2013, he won a Lambda Literary Award for his novel In One Person. An international writer—his novels have been translated into more than thirty-five languages—John Irving lives in Toronto. His all-time best-selling novel, in every language, is A Prayer for Owen Meany. Avenue of Mysteries is his fourteenth novel.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 480
Erscheinungsdatum 01.11.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4516-6416-4
Verlag Simon + Schuster
Maße (L/B/H) 244/167/42 mm
Gewicht 763
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 35.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig innert 1-2 Werktagen.
Versandkostenfrei
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 45035192
    Avenue of Mysteries
    von John Irving
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 37162494
    Old Filth (Old Filth Trilogy 1)
    von Jane Gardam
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 4443827
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 41768011
    Irving, J: Avenue of Mysteries
    von John Irving
    (2)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 33.90
  • 42413879
    Doerr, A: All the Light We Cannot See
    von Anthony Doerr
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 18.90
  • 40975604
    The Marble Collector
    von Cecelia Ahern
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 27.90
  • 29974749
    Me Before You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (7)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 4570744
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    (11)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 16530665
    Night Music
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 29524228
    My Uncle Oswald
    von Roald Dahl
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 18.90

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
0
2
0
0
0

Zuviel Religion - to much religion?
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Hürth am 07.11.2015

Ich bin ein großer John Irving-Fan. I'm a great John-Irving-Fan. Ein Schriftsteller, der von sich und seiner Schwester erzählt in einem Waisenhaus erzählt. A novelist, who tells about his and his sister in orphanshouse. Er erzählt von seinen Herzproblemen und wie Viagra dabei hilft. He tells from his heartproblems... Ich bin ein großer John Irving-Fan. I'm a great John-Irving-Fan. Ein Schriftsteller, der von sich und seiner Schwester erzählt in einem Waisenhaus erzählt. A novelist, who tells about his and his sister in orphanshouse. Er erzählt von seinen Herzproblemen und wie Viagra dabei hilft. He tells from his heartproblems and how viagra helps. Durch dieses Viagra kann er Mutter und Tochter befriedigen, welcher er auf einem Flug nach Hongkong kennengelernt hat. Through this viagra he can satisfied mother and daughter, which he met on a flight to hongkong. Er lebt in Philippinen und erlebt in Alpträumen seine Kindheit. He lives in philippines and expierenced his childhood in nightmares. Wie immer in Romanen von John Irving entdecke ich Toleranz. However in novels from john irving i discover tolerance. Er beschreibt Menschen ohne Sie zu beurteilen. He discribes human being without too judge. Manchmal ist mir diesser Roman zu religiös. This novel is for me too religious, sometimes. Kann ich Gedanken lesen, kann ich in die Zukunft schauen? Can i read minds, can i look to the future? Diese Fragen sind in diesem Roman die Hauptsache und beschäftigen den Helden dieses Romans. This questions are the main thing in this novel and deal the hero with this novel.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
Avenue of Mysteries
von miss.mesmerized am 19.03.2016
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

Juan Diego is on his way to the biggest trip of his life: form New York to the Philippines. Yet, already the start of his journey is difficult, masses of snow lead to a delay, but while waiting at JFK, he meets Dorothy and Miriam who will change of... Juan Diego is on his way to the biggest trip of his life: form New York to the Philippines. Yet, already the start of his journey is difficult, masses of snow lead to a delay, but while waiting at JFK, he meets Dorothy and Miriam who will change of a lot of his plans for the following days. However, the elderly author does not only travel to Asia, but also into his own past, remembering how he grew up on a Mexican dump together with his mind-reading sister Lupe, how Jesuits took care of them and how Lupe lost her life. For readers of John Irving’s novels, the latest has to offer what you would expect from it: a great story of a whole life which is neither easy nor does it offer masses of luck and joy. Nevertheless, again, we get a multifaceted protagonist who is able to narrate his story and analyse it at the same time, who is singular and at the same time representative for a whole group of persons. He offers insight in his very special life and makes the novel vivid and complex. Having both stories – the past and the present – at the same time also provide a lot of suspense, since at the beginning, you cannot really like the old and the young Juan Diego and you get curious to find out what happened to his life to make such a turn. All in all, a wonderful story to indulge in.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Avenue of Mysteries - John Irving

Avenue of Mysteries

von John Irving

(2)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 35.90
+
=
Trying to Save Piggy Sneed - John Irving

Trying to Save Piggy Sneed

von John Irving

Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
Fr. 33.90
+
=

für

Fr. 69.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale