orellfuessli.ch

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Ecco

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt
Seitenzahl 336, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 12.03.2013
Serie Ecco
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062270078
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook
Fr. 5.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 42532043
    Shadows Of The Workhouse
    von Jennifer Worth
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 38027587
    Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse
    von Jennifer Worth
    eBook
    Fr. 6.90
  • 79839230
    What Happened
    von Hillary Rodham Clinton
    eBook
    Fr. 13.50
  • 44467976
    The Outrun
    von Amy Liptrot
    eBook
    Fr. 8.90
  • 47704295
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    eBook
    Fr. 13.50
  • 46329838
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    von J. D. Vance
    eBook
    Fr. 8.90
  • 38585235
    First They Killed My Father
    von Loung Ung
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 52002341
    Lion: A Long Way Home
    von Saroo Brierley
    eBook
    Fr. 9.50
  • 45779238
    Once Upon A Time in the East
    von Xiaolu Guo
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 48975781
    Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
    von Elena Favilli
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End - Jennifer Worth

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

von Jennifer Worth

eBook
Fr. 5.90
+
=
Call The Midwife - Jennifer Worth

Call The Midwife

von Jennifer Worth

eBook
Fr. 5.50
+
=

für

Fr. 11.40

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen