orellfuessli.ch

Ghana Must Go

A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

This is the story of a family -- of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together.

It is the story of one family, the Sais, whose good life crumbles in an evening; a Ghanaian father, Kweku Sai, who becomes a highly respected surgeon in the US only to be disillusioned by a grotesque injustice; his Nigerian wife, Fola, the beautiful homemaker abandoned in his wake; their eldest son, Olu, determined to reconstruct the life his father should have had; their twins, seductive Taiwo and acclaimed artist Kehinde, both brilliant but scarred and flailing; their youngest, Sadie, jealously in love with her celebrity best friend. All of them sent reeling on their disparate paths into the world. Until, one day, tragedy spins the Sais in a new direction.

This is the story of a family: torn apart by lies, reunited by grief. A family absolved, ultimately, by that bitter but most tenuous bond: familial love.

Ghana Must Go interweaves the stories of the Sais in a rich and moving drama of separation and reunion, spanning generations and cultures from West Africa to New England, London, New York and back again. It is a debut novel of blazing originality and startling power by a writer of extraordinary gifts.

'Ghana Must Go is both a fast moving story of one family's fortunes and an ecstatic exploration of the inner lives of its members. With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period. An astonishing debut' Teju Cole, author of Open City

Taiye Selasi was born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in American Studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in International Relations from Oxford. "The Sex Lives of African Girls" (Granta, 2011), Selasi's fiction debut, appears in Best American ShortStories 2012. She lives in Rome.

Rezension
In Ghana Must Go, Selasi drives the six characters skillfully through past and present, unearthing old betrayals and unexplained grievances at a delicious pace. By the time the surviving five convene at a funeral in Ghana, we are invested in their reconciliation--which is both realistically shaky and dramatically satisfying ... Narrative gold
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 350, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 04.04.2013
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780670919895
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
eBook
Fr. 9.50
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Premium Card
Fr. 9.50 Umsatz sammeln
Weitere Informationen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 47543486
    Into the Water
    von Paula Hawkins
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 16.50
  • 46472199
    The Thirst
    von Jo Nesbo
    (5)
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 47940135
    Earthly Remains
    von Donna Leon
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 45779122
    My Not So Perfect Life
    von Sophie Kinsella
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 42043625
    That Girl From Nowhere
    von Dorothy Koomson
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 40208963
    Thirteen Reasons Why
    von Jay Asher
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 54333598
    All the Missing Girls
    von Megan Miranda
    eBook
    Fr. 6.90
  • 43842910
    The Widow
    von Fiona Barton
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 26688728
    Can You Keep A Secret?
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (12)
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Ghana Must Go

Ghana Must Go

von Taiye Selasi

eBook
Fr. 9.50
+
=
Der Pfau

Der Pfau

von Isabel Bogdan

(86)
eBook
Fr. 18.50
+
=

für

Fr. 28.00

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen