orellfuessli.ch

The Home Place

A Novel

William Morrow

Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family's life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister's death.

The only Terrebonne who made it out, Alma thought she was done with Montana, with its bleak winters and stifling ways. But an unexpected call from the local police takes the successful lawyer back to her provincial hometown and pulls her into the family trouble she thought she'd left far behind: Her lying, party-loving sister, Vicky, is dead. Alma is told that a very drunk Vicky had wandered away from a party and died of exposure after a night in the brutal cold. But when Alma returns home to bury Vicky and see to her orphaned niece, she discovers that the death may not have been an accident.

The Home Place is a story of secrets that will not lie still, human bonds that will not break, and crippling memories that will not be silenced. It is a story of rural towns and runaways, of tensions corporate and racial, of childhood trauma and adolescent betrayal, and of the guilt that even forgiveness cannot ease. Most of all, this is a story of the place we carry in us always: home.

… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt
Seitenzahl 320, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 29.07.2014
Serie William Morrow
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062323460
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook
Fr. 11.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 32211347
    The Handmaid's Tale
    von Margaret Atwood
    eBook
    Fr. 9.50
  • 46057399
    4 3 2 1
    von Paul Auster
    eBook
    Fr. 8.50
  • 45670105
    Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    eBook
    Fr. 9.50
  • 46675775
    This Was a Man
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 8.50
  • 38490532
    Be Careful What You Wish For
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    Fr. 5.90
  • 44532117
    Your Irresistible Love (The Bennett Family, #1)
    von Layla Hagen
    eBook
    Fr. 4.50
  • 45121783
    The Bookshop on the Corner
    von Jenny Colgan
    eBook
    Fr. 11.50
  • 44979655
    Swing Time
    von Zadie Smith
    (7)
    eBook
    Fr. 12.50
  • 70425805
    Begin Again
    von Mona Kasten
    eBook
    Fr. 12.50
  • 50883523
    The Map That Leads to You
    von J. P. Monninger
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 13.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Home Place - Carrie La Seur

The Home Place

von Carrie La Seur

eBook
Fr. 11.90
+
=
My Not So Perfect Life - Sophie Kinsella

My Not So Perfect Life

von Sophie Kinsella

(5)
eBook
Fr. 5.50
+
=

für

Fr. 17.40

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen