orellfuessli.ch

The Seventh Most Important Thing

Knopf Books for Young Readers

This "luminescent" (Kirkus Reviews) story of anger and art, loss and redemption will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's Lost in the Sun and Vince Vawter's Paperboy.
NOMINATED FOR 16 STATE AWARDS!
AN ALA NOTABLE BOOK
AN ILA TEACHERS CHOICE
A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
Arthur T. Owens grabbed a brick and hurled it at the trash picker. Arthur had his reasons, and the brick hit the Junk Man in the arm, not the head. But none of that matters to the judge-he is ready to send Arthur to juvie forever. Amazingly, it's the Junk Man himself who offers an alternative: 120 hours of community service . . . working for him.
Arthur is given a rickety shopping cart and a list of the Seven Most Important Things: glass bottles, foil, cardboard, pieces of wood, lightbulbs, coffee cans, and mirrors. He can't believe it-is he really supposed to rummage through people's trash? But it isn't long before Arthur realizes there's more to the Junk Man than meets the eye, and the "trash" he's collecting is being transformed into something more precious than anyone could imagine. . . .
Inspired by the work of folk artist James Hampton, Shelley Pearsall has crafted an affecting and redemptive novel about discovering what shines within us all, even when life seems full of darkness.
"A moving exploration of how there is often so much more than meets the eye." -Booklist, starred review
"There are so many things to love about this book. Remarkable." -The Christian Science Monitor
Portrait
A former teacher and museum historian, SHELLEY PEARSALL is now a full-time author. The idea for this novel began many years ago when she first saw outsider artist James Hampton's amazing work at the Smithsonian. She was disappointed that so little is known about Hampton and was intrigued that his work was brought to light by anonymous sources. It was the perfect foundation for this redemptive, inspiring historical novel. Her first novel, Trouble Don't Last, won the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction. To learn more about the author and her work, visit ShelleyPearsall.com.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt
Seitenzahl 288, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 08.09.2015
Serie Knopf Books for Young Readers
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780553497304
Verlag Random House UK
eBook
Fr. 8.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 44789239
    Harry Potter: The Complete Collection (1-7)
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 63.00
  • 46654882
    Empire of Storms
    von Sarah J. Maas
    (3)
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 40208963
    Thirteen Reasons Why
    von Jay Asher
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 44611707
    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 10.00
  • 44611708
    Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 10.00
  • 44605029
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 10.00
  • 77565822
    Tower of Dawn
    von Sarah J. Maas
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 44609155
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 10.00
  • 44609156
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    (4)
    eBook
    Fr. 10.00
  • 71560245
    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 10.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Seventh Most Important Thing - Shelley Pearsall

The Seventh Most Important Thing

von Shelley Pearsall

eBook
Fr. 8.90
+
=
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone - Joanne K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

von Joanne K. Rowling

eBook
Fr. 10.00
+
=

für

Fr. 18.90

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen