The Strings of Murder

A Case for Frey & McGray 01

(1)
'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times

'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin

A spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. The First Case for Frey & McGray.

Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense.

Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense.

McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...

'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.'
Manda Scott

'A great cop double-act ... It's the pairing of the upright Frey and the unorthodox McGray that notches up the stars for this book. Like de Muriel, they're going places.'
Sunday Sport

'One of the best debuts so far this year - a brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting ... with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written - The Strings Of Murder is everything you need in a mystery thriller.'
Crime Review
Portrait
Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City and moved to the UK to complete his PhD. He is a chemist, translator and violinist who now lives and works in Manchester. The Loch of the Dead is his fourth novel, following A Mask of Shadows, A Fever of the Blood and The Strings of Murder.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 416
Erscheinungsdatum 12.02.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7181-7982-3
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 19,8/12,8/3,2 cm
Gewicht 298 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1-2 Werktagen.
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr. 30 i
Lieferung zur Abholung in Ihre Buchhandlung möglich – Verfügbarkeit prüfen

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 52862503
    A Mask of Shadows - Oscar De Muriel
    A Mask of Shadows
    von Oscar De Muriel
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 15.90
  • 42376294
    The Strings of Murder - Oscar De Muriel
    The Strings of Murder
    von Oscar De Muriel
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 47877536
    Manche Tage muss man einfach zuckern - Tamara Mataya
    Manche Tage muss man einfach zuckern
    von Tamara Mataya
    (29)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 45078187
    The Spy Who Came in from the Cold - John le Carré
    The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
    von John le Carré
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 18.90
  • 45931816
    Der Report der Magd - Margaret Atwood
    Der Report der Magd
    von Margaret Atwood
    (69)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 17.90
  • 43388458
    His Bloody Project - Graeme Macrae Burnet
    His Bloody Project
    von Graeme Macrae Burnet
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 46395086
    A Rising Man - Abir Mukherjee
    A Rising Man
    von Abir Mukherjee
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 16.90
  • 34716885
    Names for the Sea - Sarah Moss
    Names for the Sea
    von Sarah Moss
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 19.90
  • 40200514
    The Harvest Man - Alex Grecian
    The Harvest Man
    von Alex Grecian
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 47251140
    The Strings of Murder - Oscar De Muriel
    The Strings of Murder
    von Oscar De Muriel
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 23.90
  • 44081894
    The Strings of Murder - Oscar De Muriel
    The Strings of Murder
    von Oscar De Muriel
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 39.90
  • 61558759
    Loch of the Dead - Oscar De Muriel
    Loch of the Dead
    von Oscar De Muriel
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 15.90
  • 62292421
    Der Fluch von Pendle Hill - Oscar De Muriel
    Der Fluch von Pendle Hill
    von Oscar De Muriel
    (16)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 45244909
    Die Schatten von Edinburgh - Oscar De Muriel
    Die Schatten von Edinburgh
    von Oscar De Muriel
    (26)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 14.90
  • 52694012
    Divide
    Divide
    von Ed Sheeran
    (6)
    Musik (CD)
    Fr. 22.90
  • 55857895
    The Hazel Wood - Melissa Albert
    The Hazel Wood
    von Melissa Albert
    (1)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 28.90
  • 44321960
    Alles kein Zufall - Elke Heidenreich
    Alles kein Zufall
    von Elke Heidenreich
    (19)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    Fr. 28.90
  • 44676724
    Travelers Rest - Keith Lee Morris
    Travelers Rest
    von Keith Lee Morris
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 18.90
  • 37171564
    Deutschbuch Gymnasium - Bayern - Neubearbeitung / 5. Jahrgangsstufe - Arbeitsheft mit Lösungen - Martin Scheday, Konrad Wieland
    Deutschbuch Gymnasium - Bayern - Neubearbeitung / 5. Jahrgangsstufe - Arbeitsheft mit Lösungen
    von Martin Scheday
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    Fr. 12.90

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 14.01.2018
Bewertet: anderes Format

Zwei, die so schlecht zusammen passen wie Scully und Mulder. Schöne Schauergeschichte im nebligen victorianischen Edinburgh.


Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Strings of Murder - Oscar De Muriel

The Strings of Murder

von Oscar De Muriel

(1)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
+
=
A Fever of the Blood - Oscar De Muriel

A Fever of the Blood

von Oscar De Muriel

Buch (Taschenbuch)
Fr. 17.90
+
=

für

Fr. 34.80

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Verfügbarkeit in Ihrer Buchhandlung prüfen

Filialabholung: Ihre Vorteile
  1. Bereits Online prüfen, ob Ihr gewünschtes Buch in der Filiale vorrätig ist
  2. Bestellen Sie Online und lassen Sie Ihre Artikel zur Abholung in die Filiale vor Ort liefern
  3. Artikel, die zur Filialabholung bestellt wurden, können in der Filiale bezahlt werden.
  4. Falsches Buch bestellt? Retournieren Sie ihre gekauften Bücher kostenfrei in der Filiale