orellfuessli.ch

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

Your Fathers, Where Are They is Dave Eggers's brilliantly executed story of one man struggling to make sense of the world.

In a barracks on an abandoned military base, miles from the nearest road, Thomas watches as the man he has brought wakes up. Kev, a NASA astronaut, doesn't recognize his captor, though Thomas remembers him. Kev cries for help. He pulls at the chain. But the ocean is close by, and nobody can hear him over the waves and wind. Thomas apologizes. He didn't want to have to resort to this. But they really needed to have a conversation, and Kev didn't answer his messages. And now, if Kev can just stop yelling, Thomas has a few questions.

'With each tightly controlled book, Eggers's fiction becomes more prescient, moving and unsettling . . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?' Independent

'An angry and astute investigation into the state of America . . . Politically and polemically engaged in the tradition of Dickens and Zola' Mark Lawson, Guardian

'One of our fiercest and most compelling writers' Sunday Times

Rezension
Unmistakably the work of a singular talent. . . Even if all generations are lost generations, we need engaged, incendiary novels which ask: What now?
Portrait

Dave Eggers is the author of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, You Shall Know Our Velocity, How We Are Hungry, Teachers Have It Easy, What Is the What, How the Water Feels to the Fishes, The Wild Things, Zeitoun, A Hologram for the King, The Circle, Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?,Heroes of the Frontier and The Monk of Mokha. A Hologram for the King and The Circle have both been adapted into major feature films.

Dave Eggers is the founder of McSweeney's independent publishing house, the 826 National network, and the nonprofit organisation ScholarMatch. He lives in Northern California with his family.

… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt
Seitenzahl 240, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 03.07.2014
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780241971314
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
eBook
Fr. 9.50
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 46680677
    Origin: Robert Langdon Book 5
    von Dan Brown
    eBook
    Fr. 16.50
  • 81859027
    The Pearl Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    eBook
    Fr. 14.90
  • 45779122
    My Not So Perfect Life
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (5)
    eBook
    Fr. 5.50
  • 79026476
    A Column of Fire
    von Ken Follett
    eBook
    Fr. 15.50
  • 44609104
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
    von J.K. Rowling
    eBook
    Fr. 10.00
  • 81863459
    The Rooster Bar
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    Fr. 13.50
  • 26688728
    Can You Keep A Secret?
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (13)
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 46472199
    The Thirst
    von Jo Nesbo
    (7)
    eBook
    Fr. 14.50
  • 28112946
    The Snowman
    von Jo Nesbo
    eBook
    Fr. 7.50
  • 40324787
    The Seven Sisters
    von Lucinda Riley
    (1)
    eBook
    Fr. 9.50

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever? - Dave Eggers

Your Fathers, Where Are They? And the Prophets, Do They Live Forever?

von Dave Eggers

eBook
Fr. 9.50
+
=
Unterleuten - Juli Zeh

Unterleuten

von Juli Zeh

(75)
eBook
Fr. 11.90
+
=

für

Fr. 21.40

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen