Warenkorb
 

Where the Crawdads Sing

A Novel

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—
The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—
People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—
Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller,
New York Times bestselling author of
Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight


“Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—
Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks,
New York Times bestselling author of
Every Breath


“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—
Real Simple

“Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—
Publishers Weekly


“The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”
—Southern Living


“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—
Refinery29

“Anyone who liked
The Great Alone will want to read
Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.”—Kristin Hannah, author of
The Great Alone and
The Nightingale

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—
Vanity Fair

“Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—
Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”
—AARP 

“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story,
Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”
—ShelfAwareness


“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”
—Christopher Scotton, author of
The Secret Wisdom of the Earth


“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—
Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”
—David Joy, author of
The Line That Held Us
Rezension
"A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world."-The New York Times Book Review

"Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut."-People

"This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-Bustle

"A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely."-Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight

"Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story."-Entertainment Weekly

"This wonderful novel has a bit of everything-mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina."-Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

"Delia Owen's gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit."-Real Simple

"Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine."-Publishers Weekly

"The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut."-Southern Living

"A nature-infused romance with a killer twist."-Refinery29

"Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives."-Vanity Fair

"Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya's deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures."-Booklist

"This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing."-AARP

"Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time."-ShelfAwareness

"With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!"-Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

"A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud."-Augusta Chronicle

"Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls."-David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us
Portrait
Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa. She holds a BS in Zoology from the University of Georgia and a PhD in Animal Behavior from the University of California at Davis. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in
Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and
International Wildlife, among many others. She lives in the mountains of North Carolina.
Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 384
Erscheinungsdatum 14.08.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7352-1909-0
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 23.6/15.9/4.3 cm
Gewicht 587 g
Verkaufsrang 2145
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 29.90
Fr. 29.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
1
1
0
0
0

von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 04.08.2019
Bewertet: anderes Format

Ein Roman wie ein filigranes Ökosystem. Die Sprache wie Ebbe und Flut, rauh zärtlich, poetisch, melancholisch und nüchtern. Ganz großes Kino im Kopf und mein Buch des Jahres!

Another world - a story to enjoy!
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Winterthur am 03.01.2019
Bewertet: Format: eBook (ePUB)

This book was totally not what I expected - in a good way! It took me some time to get into it since the world it describes is so foreign to mine and the author loves the details just as much as the story. But once you fell for Kya and her marsh, you definitely gotta know how her life turns out. Enjoy this other world and let yo... This book was totally not what I expected - in a good way! It took me some time to get into it since the world it describes is so foreign to mine and the author loves the details just as much as the story. But once you fell for Kya and her marsh, you definitely gotta know how her life turns out. Enjoy this other world and let your mind create this story in your head.