Warenkorb
 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

A modern cult classic, a major motion picture and a timeless bestseller, The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story.

Charlie is not the biggest geek in high school, but he's by no means popular.

Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie is attempting to navigate through the uncharted territory of high school . The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and music - when all one requires to feel infinite is that perfect song on that perfect drive. Standing on the fringes of life Charlie has a unique perspective of the world around him, but there comes a time to stop being a wallflower and see what it looks like from the dance floor.

This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion has become a modern classic. Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating and through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

'Chobsky captures adolescent angst, confusion and joy... Compelling.' Booklist
'This wistful, sensitive novel perfectly captures the uncertainty and excitement of adolescence, and has become a deserving modern classic.' Scottish Book Trust
'A coming-of-age tale in the tradition of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE and A SEPARATE PEACE... [Chbosky's] poignant reflections on life, love and friendship are often inspirational and always beautifully written.' USA Today
Portrait
Chbosky, Stephen
Stephen Chbosky grew up in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and graduated from the University of Southern California's Filmic Writing Program. His first film, The Four Corners of Nowhere, premiered at Sundance Film Festival and went on to win Best Narrative Feature honors at the Chicago Underground Film Festival. He helped edit and contributed material to John Leguizamo's Broadway show, sexaholix. He also edited Pieces, a collection of short stories for Pocket Books. Most recently, he wrote the screenplay for the critically acclaimed film adaptation of Rent. He also co-created and served as executive producer of the post-apocalyptic drama, Jericho, which found a place in television history when its cancellation prompted fans to send over 40,000 pounds of nuts to the network in protest. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is his first novel. As well as being an author, Steven Chbosky is a film director and screenwriter. He lives in Los Angeles.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 240
Altersempfehlung 14 - 17
Erscheinungsdatum 30.08.2012
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4711-1614-8
Verlag Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Maße (L/B/H) 19.8/13/1.7 cm
Gewicht 176 g
Verkaufsrang 2488
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 17.90
Fr. 17.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

vom (un)Übel erwachsen zu werden

Sandra Wittwer, Buchhandlung Winterthur

Man liest die Briefe des 15jährigen Charlies und merkt schnell, welche Verletztheit in dieser Figur stecken und wie dieser Junge an manchen Stellen mit seinem Leben hadert; Sein einziger Freund hat sich erst gerade umgebracht und sein erstes Jahr an der High School beginnt. Als er die Geschwister Sam und Patrick kennenlernt, erfährt sein Leben einen Wendepunkt. Diese Freundschaft gibt ihm Selbstvertrauen und den Mut seinen eigenen Weg zu gehen. Charlies Figur habe ich sofort ins Herz geschlossen, habe zum Lesen “The Smiths” gehört und mich daran erinnert, wie es für mich war in diesem Alter “Der Fänger im Roggen” zu lesen. Anfangs habe ich mich noch an der Einfachheit der Sprache gestört, bis ich gemerkt habe, dass es Charlies Sprache ist. Nachdem ich das Buch zuende gelesen hatte, wurde mir bewusst wie gerne ich ein solches Buch als Teenager gelesen hätte, und war erstaunt, wie sehr es mich auch jetzt berührt hat. Chbosky ist ein wundervoller Roman über das Erwachsenwerden und Andersein gelungen.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
16 Bewertungen
Übersicht
12
3
1
0
0

A book, every young adult should read!
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 11.02.2019

Charly is really a wallflower. He has no friends, is the best one in english literature and all he does in his free time is reading. Till he meets Sam and Patrick. In this two he finds real friends. Charly watches them graduate and go to College at the same time as he is growing up. He learns a lot from them,: What live is reall... Charly is really a wallflower. He has no friends, is the best one in english literature and all he does in his free time is reading. Till he meets Sam and Patrick. In this two he finds real friends. Charly watches them graduate and go to College at the same time as he is growing up. He learns a lot from them,: What live is really about and to capture every beautiful moment! I think every young person, which is growing up as an adult should read this book. I also think, that it would be good to read this book in school. It tells you a lot important about bullying, homosexuality, love itself family and friendship. This book was really one of my Highlights this year and it was really beautiful to read!

THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Großostheim am 29.09.2017
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

I love this book so much! It's written in a very nice and easy-readable way. If English is not your first language, you will still not have any problems reading it (at least it was totally okay for me and I'm in the 10th grade). 100% worth buying!

Awesome!
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 26.06.2017
Bewertet: Format: eBook (ePUB)

A young man tries to come to grips with the death of his best friend and his own past via some frankly touching efforts to "participate" more in life. An incredible moving story that leaves an enduring impression.